We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Gotta Not Eat Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of JR's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

JR's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tel 613 256 2031
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You Gotta Not Eat Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lunch was dismal. Cheeseburger tasted old and dried out. Soft, oily fries. Chicken in the chicken caesar wrap was gnarly. Not very clean tables and carpet. Almost empty too. We had watched the "You Gotta Eat Here" episode on Food Network and thought this restaurant would be much, much better. Would definitely not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Changed Hands - A Changed JR's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

In a short 3 months, JR's "Sunday Brunch Buffet" has gone from great to pathetic. Over the years, we have enjoyed the brunch and would recommend it as the place to go. After this past Sunday however, (our first visit since mid-May) I would tend to discourage anyone from going there. The selection of items from salads through to desserts is about one half of what was available previously.
The scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, bacon, sausage, and the single selection meat choice were cold and not freshly prepared. Most, if not all of the desserts, appeared to be from commercial sources (the previous owner's desserts had usually been freshly made on site). Also, no cheese available for the apple pie, a Canadian standard, nor toppings or other enhancement for the selection of puddings and jellies as there were none. Further, the special desserts such as trifle or hot apple crisp, were missing.
We visit several different restaurants in Smiths Falls, Perth, Carleton Place and Almonte nearly every Sunday and up until yesterday JR's, for us, was ranked # one out of the 10 or so we have been to. Yesterday saw it plummet to the bottom and we likely won't be back.
The only saving grace in the whole experience was our waitress, Moira, who kept it from being a complete disaster. The fact that the restaurant, on our arrival, was not busy should have been an indication that the status had changed. It's unfortunate that the excellent reputation historically attached to JR's own name will be lost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
497 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“you gotta eat here? NOT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

after recent showing on the tv show "You gotta eat here" I decided to try it for lunch. not impressed.
you roll onto the traingle parking lot..try figure what door to use lol..once inside I stood an eternity waiting to get seated..it was empty at lunch..was seated in the lower server area..man the carpet was filthy, the floor had not been vacummed, there werre crumbs on many seats and tables..the servers more interested in that than serving me. finally I got served ...ordered a turkey sandwich..it was GOOD.at lweast the cooks seem to knwo what they are doing. no water refill..service sorry sucked. won't be back

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was not impressed with the quality or quantity of the food we were served and the so called Asian chicken soup was laughable.To be fair,our server was pleasant but that in no way made up for a very disappointing lunch.We will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aviva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Friendly Staff, Fast Service, Great Breakfast. Went for Sunday Brunch - the Buffet Looked Fantastic, but we didn't think we could eat that much! - Will go back another time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR's Family Restaurant also viewed

Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
Almonte, Mississippi Mills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing