We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a try”
Review of The Railway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe On The Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited Lincoln for the Christmas market, and had booked this hotel through an agent. After reading the reviews, we were a little wary but nothing was going to spoil our weekend. We were very impressed with the Railway. Anthony has only just taken over and has worked very hard to make major improvements. The pub was so warm and friendly, like being sat in somebodys living room, with a gorgeous roaring fire. The chalet type rooms were very cosy and clean and we had a very good nights sleep. The breakfast was beautiful and all single handedly done by Anthony, he works so hard and deserves a chance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

I must admit i had read the previous reviews and was rather worried but i have to say i was surprised. There is a new landlord Anthony, a rather pleasant chap who has worked extremely hard on the place to bring it up to scratch!!. Our room was lovely and clean and warm and certainly not as described in other reviews, the breakfast was top notch too, all in all credit where credit is due Anthony has done a great job so far!!. Myself, wife and our friends who we travelled with all agree that we certainly would stay there again. There is still some work to do but give the place a chance.........WE DID

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Our second visit after two and a half months, Anthony has made massive improvements to the pub and rooms . Now selling guest beers and has recently started Sunday lunches . Anthony is really trying hard and deserves more support for his efforts please give him a try you will be pleasantly amazed at the transformation . Will definitely keep returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquie150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We paid £45 for the room & Breakfast. It was described by a person sitting near us as 'Fawlty Towers', I cant disagree totally but we didnt pay much. The bed was clean, the room was acceptable and we had our own entrance..the Landlord/Lady were a bit rough round the edges but the banter with the locals was enjoyable!

They did ask if we wanted full english and if so what time so we said 0830..it arrived about 0930..so be warned unless you're on my Irish time..it wont be ready!

Worth a try, we'd stay again if we were stuck..but the Ibis nearby is better value I have to say!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own access and albeit next to the railway line its quiet and I'm not deaf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

In fairness, I can't comment on the food or the B&B, but we called in here on a cycle ride for refreshements and food. The beer was disgusting and even though the landlord agreed and pulled two more pints ... this was equally rank. The lack of empathy and acknowledgement that the beer was off meant that we just left our beer and put it down to experience. Obviously we didn't stay and order some food so they lost our business. If the bar experience is anything to go by, the recent reviews of the B&B and food corroborate that The Railway Inn is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Where do I start. The whole place is in need of a serious clean. The bedroom needed decorating, the bed linen and towels were old and worn. The bedside mat was badly stained. I actually wanted to go home. The resteraunt carpet was filthy so bad that my feet stuck to the carpet. The upholstery on the chairs was also very dirty. By far the worst place I have ever stayed.
With a little elbow grease and outlay of new linen the place would just about be acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Quite simply one of the worst b&bs I have ever stayed at. The landlady looked very unkempt and not at all welcoming, the room was reasonable and fairly comfortable but the restaurant and the breakfast was awful. We went for breakfast twenty minutes after the time slot we were given and to our dismay nothing was ready. No tables laid, dirty tablecloths and chairs and the carpet covered with food stains. The cooked breakfast, when it finally arrived, was swimming in grease and my wife found a hair in hers which suspiciously looked like it could have come from the dog that popped in from time to time.
Will never go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennishorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe On The Hill
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing