We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rear of barn with Llangattock escarpment in distance
View of Black Mountains including Table Top Mountain from the barn
Merryfields Barn from front garden
Nearby Llangorse lake with boats for hire and Brecon Beacons in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pipharris...
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Merryfields Barn is just perfect for a lovely get away from it all experience. It was not the best sign to find it & we went around a couple of times but well worth it when we arrived. A lovely welcome basket with goodies waiting for us. Everything you could think of was provided & the cottage was warm & cosy, stunning views with lots of outside space great for kids or dog. The only negative would be the bath which looks good but not very practical & would take forever to fill it even halfway. We loved our stay so would be happy for another visit, take some decent walking shoes if going down to the village & it gets the heart rate up on the way back.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space & veiws
Liked least: the bath
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The barn and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the barn. I don't know what happened to the scissors but we'll get a new pair!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rahbish
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning and peaceful ”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a place to stay in Wales then this is your place the barn is finished to a 5* standard with everything you could need for your holiday including a fully equipped kitchen. The location is so peaceful and when the weather was nice it was great to finish off the day in the beautiful garden watching the birds.

We also took our dog who loved it as well, my only tip if you are taking a dog is take a comfy bed for them as the downstairs is all stone floor which is gorgeous but not so comfy for then.

I would definitely recommend to friends in fact I am actively going to!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladywell2...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Views to die for”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Complicated to find at first (turn off the A40 at the Shell Garage and keep going through the traffic lights, over the river then turn left and right would have been more helpful), this was a beautiful holiday cottage. The barn was immaculate, comfortable and warm and frankly the best holiday rental we have had in fifty years..... The view was magical and we would recommend it to anybody. Would certainly come again as Crickhowell is a dear little town and there are several good eating places within easy reach.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Small bathrooms. especially the washbasins
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thanks, Diana. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the barn and the Crickhowell area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringlandj...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A stunning, modern barn with exceptional views: What a gem!”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful holiday barn, with lots of inside and outside space and very accommodating owners. We stayed here four nights in June and were blessed with very good weather and therefore stunning views across to Crickhowell and the Black Mountains. Plenty to do in the area including walking along the Brecon Canal which has some stunning views in both directions. Try not to miss the walk to Penyfan from Tal y Bont.
We will definitely return to this wonderful property.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views and lovely, clean internal space downstairs
Liked least: Wifi access was very intermittent
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighC60
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for long stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We've just returned home from our week at Merryfields Barn and, with hindsight, we wish we'd booked an extra week. We think it would be an ideal base for anyone visiting the UK due to its good access links to Cardiff, Manchester and London.
Crickhowell is almost directly west of London which means the weather is similarly clement. We were monitoring the forecasts leading up to our trip and there was often only 1°C difference between the two.
We considered hiring a car but didn't feel we needed to. To reach the barn from Abergavenny station costs less than £20 in a taxi. There is also an hourly bus service to Crickhowell although this finishes before 7pm. From Crickhowell you can take a taxi to the barn for about £5. The walk into Crickhowell takes around 20 minutes down a steep, windy road. We are in our 40s and very unfit but found this easily manageable.
The barn itself is stunning with a well-equipped kitchen (often a fault in self-catering lets), a luxuriously deep Japanese bath and a spacious wet room with shower. The whole property is spacious enough for four people to enjoy without feeling cramped. We spent most evenings on the porch enjoying the views and the jaw-droppingly stunning night sky.
The owners, Steve and Angela, are quite simply lovely. Communications leading up to our stay were prompt and helpful. We were greeted with a lovely gift basket when we arrived. Steve popped in on the first morning to answer any further questions but after that we were left to our own devices.
I cannot recommend Merryfields Barn highly enough. I can see us returning in the not too distant future and for a longer stay.

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, magical stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Merryfields Barn was a beautiful and unique gem with superb views.

Angela and Steve were so helpful and accommodating, with Angela coming out in the rain and waving at us in order to help us find the property when we got lost driving around in the dark! They live just next door and gave us an official welcome the next day too.

The house itself is so cosy, with underfloor heating and the deepest bath I've ever seen. The kitchen was well-equipped and exceptionally organised, leaving us with everything we needed to make dinner.

Finally, those views - wow. Even though we experienced little sun, there were rainbows over the trees and Table Mountain could be seen clearly when there was no fog. There are plenty of bird watching opportunities, both in the surrounding garden and across the hills, and even at night the sight of Crickhowell lit up is astonishing.

For our introduction to Wales, this was perfect! Thanks Steve and Angela!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Getting lost on the way - it's a tricky drive in the dark and Satnav took us to the wrong house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing