We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't stay away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Llangattock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't stay away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

I have stayed at Ty Croeso hotel more than once and it never fails to be a most relaxing experience. Surrounded by magnificent countryside there are opportunities for every kind of activity from challenging hill walking to a more gentle pace along the nearby canal ( 50 metres) or valleys ( my choice). The friendly and attentive owners and their equally friendly and helpful staff know the region well and are always available for advice. After a day spent outdoors the relaxing ambience of the hotel adds the final touch together with the delicious cuisine that never fails to delight. The stunning views can be enjoyed from all areas of the hotel in an atmosphere that is always welcoming.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — steepness of the garden
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krstroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
236
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
GLOS. UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

A lovely hotel. We booked the same night we stayed so had possibly the smallest room. It was tastefully decorated and very cosy. We found the atmosphere very friendly and the hosts welcoming and helpful. The location is fabulous , the hotel is nestled just above a canal and is within reach of some fabulous walks. The evening meal was nice but the onion soup was fantastic! Couldn't have chosen anywhere nicer for a last minute stay. Will definitely return.

  • Liked — friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaTGlos_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Chose the Ty Croeso based on normally reliable Trip Advisor reviews - but have to say, it didn't live up to expectations.

True, the hosts were very friendly and amiable - and the food, both at dinner and breakfast, was good, but not great. The setting is also very pretty, although I wasn't expecting the hotel to be surrounded by houses.

Our room was very small and the finish left a lot to be desired. Generally, it was clean - although there were plenty of cobwebs in the ceiling. The bed was tiny, and as my husband is 6' 3", we didn't get a wink of sleep.

What I found most interesting is that the Trip Advisor average cost suggested £47 per room per night; perhaps if that had been the case, I might have been more impressed with my lot. As it happens, we paid £110 for dinner, bed & breakfast (it should have been £106 but I was overcharged but didn't notice until I'd left) - which considering the standard of the facilities, I think is over priced.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The bed (room 3) !
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellNedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMJWales, Owner at Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2008
The bed in Room 3 is a standard double bed. We have a larger room with a king-size bed & the master bedroom.

There are 4 family houses between us and the canal which are all part of the Victorian workhouse complex. The hotel was the infirmary of the workhouse. There's no other buildings other than these and we're way off the main road, so very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

Lovely country hotel, with beautiful views from the bedrooms over the Black Mountains. If you're looking for a relaxing weekend with good walking and excellent food this is the place to go! Cosy lounge with open fire, and informal bar. The owners were so friendly and welcoming, and gave us great advice on where to walk. Good for a romantic weekend away! Easily accessible by car, but the owners will also pick you up from nearby Abergavenny if you come by train.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JensLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

Ty Croeso is Welsh for Welcome, and that is what you get when you come to this friendly hotel in the Brecon Beacons. Most of the (ensuite) bedrooms have stunning views directly out towards Table Mountain and the Sugar Loaf. Downstairs the cosy bar has a roaring log fire and squishy sofas.
The owners, Linda and Pavel, are a Welsh and Czech couple and this is reflected in the beers available in the bar and in the menu. When we visited, the menu offered both local Welsh delicacies (Black Welsh Beef for example) but there was also a special three course Czech menu for the month of February, including dumpling dishes! Vegetarians are also well catered for with a choice of dishes, not just a single token offering.
Breakfast is excellent too: fresh fruit, dried fruits and yogurts as well as a choice of cooked dishes, ranging from a full blown 'English' to Welsh specialities such as Glamorgan sausages (vegetarian again).
The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the lovely little town of Crikhowell either along a track or, slightly longer walk along the canal. Crickhowell offers a range of pubs and tea shops as well as an unexpected choice of good quality independent gift and clothes shops - no high street chain stores here! Walking back takes a little longer as it is up a (steep) hill.
Once here, it is possible to abandon the car and start walks straight from the hotel, or use the car to go slightly further afield. Pavel, who is a qualified walking guide and ski instructor also offers guided walking weekends although we didnt try one of these.
An excellent base for a weekend (or longer) in the beautiful Brecon Beacons. We will be back.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amethystgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Recently I had the good fortune to make a trip to the Welsh border country. On the recommendation of a friend, I stayed at Ty Croeso Hotel in Crickhowell. While I was already familiar with the area from previous trips, I'd not stayed at Ty Croeso before, but I certainly will the next time I travel to that part of the world.

This small and cozy hotel had every amenity necessary to make my stay comfortable and convenient. My room was pleasantly appointed and very clean and had a view of the mountains that was a joy to see every morning on waking. The hotel has its own restaurant where I was served delicious food, much of which I was told, comes from local sources. In fact, I had one of the absolutely best steaks I've ever tasted there - local Welsh beef. The bar is stocked with very interesting wines and beers as well as other spirits. There is also a cozy living room with a lovely fire in the evenings.

Linda and Pavel, the owners, warmly welcomed me to their hotel. They gave me good tips about local sites to visit - intriquing corners off the beaten track as well as well-known places like the town of Hay and Llantony Abbey.

Crickhowell itself is a very pleasant town where I found yummy local cheeses, good shopping and interesting architecture.

The combination of lovely rooms, good food, attentive hosts and a beautiful countryside is unbeatable. I'm looking very forward to my next visit to Ty Croeso.

  • Liked — The charm of the hotel.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bleuflek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

I’ve stayed at Ty Croeso twice now in the last year. The first time, friends had recommended it. The second time, I found myself in the area again unexpectedly, and didn’t hesitate to return. As mentioned in other reviews, the owners (Linda & Pavel) are smart, helpful and accommodating - you can see the care they take in their operation. The historic, old building (a prior workhouse), close to the pleasant town of Abergavenny, is comfortable and well maintained.

The hotel is close to lots of attractions: Chepstow Castle is an impressive site, and the little, ancient church at Kilpeck is a must for those interested in archetectural oddities. Local walks are good, with Pavel a reliable and informed walking guide. I was impressed to meet two other regulars who stay at Ty Croeso whenever they’re in the area for business. Like the police and donut shops, business travelers always seem to know where to stay.

As a visitor from San Francisco, I’m always interested in finding a place with good food. Ty Croeso doesn’t disappoint in this category either - a very well run dining room.. Will return.

  • Liked — Helpful owners
  • Disliked — Cold (!) toilets off bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 17 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dardy | Off Cwm Crawnon Road, Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful B&B on the hillside above the Brecon Monmouthshire canal overlooking the charming town of Crickhowell in the Brecon Beacons. Stunning views across the Usk Valley towards the Black Mountains. All Ty Croeso bedrooms have recently gone through extensive refurbishment and now offer ensuite facilities, free Wi-Fi, & DVD TV's within the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Croeso Crickhowell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing