We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
1 review
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I just returned back home to Australia and had to comment about this place. Just FANTASTIC! I visited there several times during my stay in Wales and every time it was spot on. The food, staff, location and building, what is there to complain about....nothing! I didn't stay as I was staying with family but this place became my second home. I had many meals and drinks in the bar. The meals are well priced and are of an excellent quality and generous serves. Highly recommend this place and will certainly be returning on my next visit to Wonderful Wales!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    96
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
90
190
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here on a living social deals offer. Excellent value for money. Location was ideal for a quiet night away. Walking distant from a lovely quaint town. Beautiful suite, the only negative was that as was an old building very creaky and woke us early the next day. Food was excellent and service was very good even though they had a big party to attend. Golf course according to my husband wasn't the best but we understand quiet time of year. Overall great place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The family had Sunday lunch here yesterday and must admit it was lovely. We started off with pumpkin soup , followed By 2 slices of beef , roast potatoes and the largest Yorkshire pudding you have ever seen. There was a lot of food to be eaten for £12.99 per head for 2 courses. There are no other meals available on a Sunday though. The meals were very hot , the service was excellent and the meals were served promptly. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the Old Rectory , which I can't rate highly enough. We also had a midweek meal in the restaurant here with the family for my birthday and that was equally excellent. Top marks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Besty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and all I can say is if you don't mind a few stairs I would definitely recommend Room 27. Havent seen the other rooms so cant comment but room 27 has the most amazing huge Jacuzzi bath, we sat there for hours with a bottle of bubbly looking at the stars through the attic window. The bed was soooooo comfy! The breakfast was top quality and the staff really friendly and welcoming. I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, Fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 27 for the amazing bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 972SianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My partner, Gloria and stayed at the Rectory Hotel, for a short one night break on 8 November. We had a 3 course meal, in the restaurant, on the Friday evening. Even though there was a large party in the restaurant, on that evening, the food we had and the service we received, were both superb. My fillet steak was cooked, exactly as requested and Gloria's lamb, melted in her mouth. The hotel only buys what can be described as top class meat. Both our starters and desserts were also of the highest quality. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and spotlessly clean. The welcome we had from all the staff, was first class. Breakfast, the next morning was exceptionally nice, again quality food and nice friendly service. In the restaurant that morning was someone, I recognized, who had left Wales 30 years ago, to live in New Zealand. It was Phil Kingsley Jones, who had played a few games for Abertillery RFC, when my late father, Arthur, was the Chairman. Phil was sat, having breakfast with 2 of the all time greats of New Zealand rugby, Colin Meads, ( Pinetree ) and Wayne Shelford. Enjoyed a nice chat with them. Overall a really nice stay at the Rectory.
Philip A Crozier, FCMA, CGMA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilCrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I like to say thanks to shaun and staff for looking after my passengers on a walking tour of wales
great welcome and great food and sorting out pack lunches for all the walkers and free bottle
water in rooms was a extra touch so on behalf of the walkers and myself
Thanks again
see you in the new year
Nelsons coaches and walking tours of wales

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a great find best hotel I have been in what a welcome great room great food .what else can I say and I can't wait to go back .thanks Shaun and family for a great break we will be back for Xmas dinner and to see Shaun dressed as Santa and to get some more of that great cider down me and wine for the wife ha ha.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing