We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
Park Place Guest House(Llangattock)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Horseshoe Inn(Llangattock)
Booking.com
View Deal
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregenna Hotel(Merthyr Tydfil)
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
303
110
43
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
110
43
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejacuzzi bathon arrivalbridal suitewalk in showerwedding venuebeautiful hotelevening mealbooked this hotellovely venueone night stayfamily roombrecon beaconsno liftwedding breakfastfull welsh breakfastsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 502 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old rectory for one night, and was very happy with our short stay. Fantastic service throughout our stay, from checking in, to checking out. We ate at the restaurant which was very good value for money. And again the service was very good. Breakfast was standard help yourself then a cooked breakfast. overall a very good stay. The location is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahchugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the old rectory hotel, last night. 15/09/13 .We have a wonderful welcome and our room was amazing. We had the superior suite. It was very clean and roomy. We had a evening meal in the restaurant and all I can say is wow. We had lamb, on a herb mash and red wine jus. Also the surf and turf. They portions were massive!!!! The breakfast was also very nice. Out stay was much better than expected!! I would like to thank the staff, for a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here recently for a friends wedding.
The Staff were all welcoming, friendly and attentive..
The food for both the reception and evening buffet/hog roast were excellent...
Drinks reasonably priced, everyone had an excellent day...
The room was great also, in fact no complaints at all...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Shown to our table and asked what drinks we would like, good so far. Asked what the soup was and was told mixed vegetable interestingly the next table were told the soup was leek and potato .. I accept that leek and potatoes are vegetables but that's not quite the same. Three out of the four of us ordered steak, two asked for well done and one medium to well done, on its arrival all three had to be returned as we're very under done. It's fair to say it was very nice when it came back. No offer to refill our drinks though! We ordered desserts and still no offer of refills until we had to ask. The desserts were delicious. Dishes were not cleared away straight away and I don't have a problem with that but while we sat chatting and waiting to order coffee the staff cleared the tables around us and set up for breakfast tomorrow morning. After around 40 to 45 minutes we asked for coffee and then the dishes were cleared away. We have experienced this laying up for breakfast while you are still eating before and find it rude and off putting. I realize this helps the staff for breakfast, but surly if you are paying for food in the evening you should expect a little customer service by offers of refills and asking if everything was alright.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SAnnDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just reurned from this hotel, we had a lovely welcome from the daugher and her 4 month old baby even though we were very early we were told our suite was ready. What a lovely surprise when we entered the room it was clean, comfortable, fab bathroom and amazing views. Water was provided in the room and also in the corridor.

The food was fresh using local produce and one of the best meals we have had for a long time. We booked through Social Living so it was a very reasonable overnight stay with evening meal and breakfast a round of golf was also included but we did not take this up as we are not golfers. We have been away quite a few times with Groupon and Social living deals but this is definitely the best deal yet, usually you are offered a set menu or certain meals off the menu but we could choose whatever we wanted from the a la carte and the bar menu.

The village itself was very pretty with lots of little cottages and streams, it was a 15 min walk to Crickhowell which had a river running through it and lots of individual shops and pubs.


The service was excellent and very friendlywe will definitely be visiting the Old Rectory again even if its just for Sunday lunch which looked very nice indeed!!

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was fab with lovely views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgowerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews