We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house, lovely location-2 let downs however!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, lovely location-2 let downs however!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Value for money excellent, location and setting perfect. Unfortunately a shower that dribbled not flowed with water heated from the centre of the earth & total dis-organisation at breakfast. No table set when we arrived, staff appearing indifferent to offering any form of customer service. No glasses for the juice buffet, no side plates for toast or pastries-used a cereal bowl and saucers instead. Tea served with no milk, no side plates or serviettes on the table, when requested this was duly delegated to a younger staff member clearing another table. The cooked breakfast was wholesome however no breakfast menu but a throw away comment from the waitress "we offer what you'd expect for a cooked breakfast" Would definitely stay here again and trust that the staff were having an off day.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as sound insulation is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilgregory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    96
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
90
190
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the hotel, wish we could have stayed longer!! Very clean and welcoming hotel. Lots of staff always on hand and very polite and helpful. We stayed in Room 15 which was lovely, no complaints at all. The food was excellent. As we booked the hotel through livingsocial, we expected to have a small set menu, this was not the case, we had an excellent range of food to choose from, something for everyone! There were a few options which had a £5 surcharge (lobser, fillet steak) but they looked fantastic and well worth the extra money. Bar prices are very reasonable. Crickhowell is about a 20 minute walk away. However, if you have walking difficulties it would be best to drive or get a taxi as you have to walk up a very steep hill. Already planning when we can go back. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughter just got married and had her wedding reception here and I cannot give the place enough rave reviews and credit. Everything was perfect down to the tiniest detail. The food was incredible, every course, everyone commented, the Pimms delicious!! The staff just incredible they just couldn't do enough for you, a special thank you to Sean and Sophie Ellis and John who was in charge of the day, he was outstanding and we feel so grateful that he was there to take care of us and everything all day. We all stayed and the rooms were gorgeous. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a gorgeous wedding venue or just have a meal and stay the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went for my husband's 60th birthday. Amazing chef - we had the venison which was firast time ever and was amazing! Clean functional hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

I would advise maybe take a few extra coat hangers.

Local places to see: Crickowell shops and The Bridge pub. The coal mine is a must visit - you will need a car.


Speak to Colin as he has a mine of information of local places to go.

Room Tip: I think they will all be good rooms - will def go back. Gardens and golf course also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in room 14 for 1 night. Room was fantastic, jacuzzi bath, walk in shower. Very good quality and loads of nice little extra touches which made the stay even nicer. Food was very good, especially the chicken liver starter! The location is tranquil with beautiful views and walking distance to crickhowell. First class, would love to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Room 14 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just back from 4days of luxury. My husband + I had a much deserved break in room 24, a fantastic suite, the bathroom was sheer luxury! The owner + first class chef, Shaun Ellis couldn't have been more welcoming + his food was amazing, he just disappeared to the kitchen and created the most mouth-watering food. The desserts were incredible, you must try the liquorice ice-cream!! On top of this we had a 9hole golf course at our disposal. From beginning to end it was one of our most memorable breaks, the staff were great and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Donington - Derby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A group of us, about 25 or so met at the Old Rectory on Friday afternoon. From the off, the owner could not have been more helpful. He showed us to our room, explained all that we needed to know including the organiser had gone on a walk with his wife and would be back soon.

Dinner that evening was excellent, we were allocated our own lounge where we could buy our drinks and order wine for the meal. The owner gave us a talk which when summarised said "Nothing is too much trouble" and during our stay of two nights was true.

The dinners were good, the breakfasts were good, the rooms were good, although some people had complained about the showers being a bit slow or cool, or the loo taking an extraordinary time to fill.

The par three golf course was used by some of our group and the summary was that it was interesting, but wouldn't stand up to playing more than twice (mind you they are quite good golfers).

Overall we loved our stay at the hotel, Well worthwhile a visit. There are several walks nearby and you are not too far from the Beacons and longer more interesting walks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
565 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
479 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing