We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at The Old Rectory for making my Ladies Evening a night to remember. The food was amazing and the Staff friendly and helpful, I would like to say a particular thanks to John who acted as maitre d’ for the evening function and made it run without a hiccup and Shawn and Sophie who could not do enough for us. I can honestly say that out of the 52 quests that stayed, not one of them had a bad word to say about the accommodation, service or food which made the whole experience very pleasurable. I would not hesitate to recommend The Old Rectory for a meal, a function or a good night’s sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    95
    36
    18
    14
See reviews for
89
186
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked to stay for a long weekend for a surprise for my wife and I for our anniversary.

Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

Stunning location, if you haven’t been to Crickhowell you don’t know what you’re missing it’s a delight!!

The hotel was old and grand on the outside but clean and modern on the inside and very warm (no saving on the heating bills there!)

The staff are a credit to the owners and are all friendly and attentive!

It is a family run hotel (father, mother, daughter) which adds to the friendly feel
.
We have stayed in lots of similar hotels in hay on wye (20mins up the road) and this was by a mile the best run!

You won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: we went for the standared double which was great, but next time we are going to go for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from a fantastic weekend at The Old Rectory - Room (227 ) amazing , jacuzzi and double walk in shower, the most comfortable bed ever!! Breakfast perfect! was given a menu with every possible combination of cooked breakfast - there was also a great healthy option of cereals, breads, fruit yoghurt etc. Food was that good we had dinner in the hotel both nights, once again an amazing menu (if you like ice cream try the licquorice ice cream with Lemon Tart)
A very relaxing weekend and great service from the staff - have to give Vidal a mention, who goes the extra mile to let you know of all the tourist attractions in the area.

Room Tip: 26 & 27 amazing rooms if you can manage the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erica-richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from The Old Rectory as part of trip to watch Ireland beat Wales - sorry Donna! Where to start? The reviewer was part of a group of 12 adults who flew into Bristol airport to be met by Shaun (proprietor) who had organised transport between the airport and hotel. On arrival at The Old Rectory we were greeted by Shaun's wife, Donna, and from then on it felt like we were staying in their home. The welcome was warm and inviting and immediately set the tone for the weekend. The location is stunning, set deep in the countryside, with views across the valley from all sides. Our room (Nr 26) was located on the top floor and on waking the following morning the outlook was breathtaking. The room was spotless, spacious and well equipped with everything a visitor would need; large comfortable bed, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, tv and plentiful tea and coffee supplies. The bathroom, which was one of the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel, had a jacuzzi as well as powerful shower. Breakfast was served in the conservatory to the rear of the hotel, overlooking the Par 3 course attached to the Hotel, and here we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast of cold cuts, cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit and home baked pastries. The cooked breakfast was delicious, with quick friendly service and for those who like to start on a full stomach you will not be disappointed. With Shaun's assistance once more we headed to Cardiff to watch the match and had a great day shopping, eating, drinking and celebrating Ireland's win. What a great City - intend going back to see it properly. Well, if I thought breakfast was good I hadn't experienced dinner. John the Restaurant Manager showed us to our seats and six of us had dinner - five deciding on fillet and one on ribeye - superb choice with selection of sides and drinks. As well as a full varied menu there are daily specials that some of the party indulged in and spoke highly of. Well presented, piping hot and again that word - plentiful. Struggling, we chose various puddings opting for sticky toffee pudding, cheesecake and the lemon tart with liquorice ice cream. Delicious and very moreish. John provided excellent customer service with his easy attitude and when asked about a local tourist attraction was more than knowledgeable. The only drawback of the weekend was the lack of time. We went for a walk on Sunday morning through the local village and it would have been nice to have an extra day to explore a little more but perhaps next time. Overall, we were more than fortunate with the weather, the location, the hospitality, the service, the ambience and of course the match result. Until next time Shaun and Donna - thank you both so much for making our trip so memorable. A

Room Tip: Reviewer had Room 26 - top floor - excellent views to rear and side of hotel - spacious bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelaneysDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I would have no hesitation whatsoever at recommending this excellent hotel. The room we had was lovely, nice (expensive!) furniture, not the usual way too hot room you get in so many hotels these days and the staff were attentive but not overbearing. We (wife and i) were attending a function upstairs at the hotel and requested at around 2am the staff enable a friend to play his guitar and sing a few songs downstairs and they allowed this and made no fuss whatsoever (i don't think we were loud enough to wake guests, at least, i hope not) The breakfast was delicious and the beer tasty. Thanks to all that made our stay so good. Rich & Sue, Manchester.x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This Hotel is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and in a beautiful setting with wonderful views. All staff and manager were excellent and could not do enough for you. The food is lovely with a good variety. We all have a extremley relaxing weekend. The breakfast is amazing with a great choice and lots of it. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would like to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at this hotel for a function on Sat night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel was beautiful, the food was amazing and the staff were very friendly and everyone went above and beyond the call of duty to help make us feel welcome. I highly recommend the welsh lamb that we were served, it was to die for!
We will definitely be returning. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
13.0 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing