We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel to Stay At”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel to Stay At”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and stayed here, located just 5 minutes from Crickhowell near the river Usk. It is a great location from which to explore Brecon and Hay-on-Wye. Shaun the owner was friendly and the staff very attentive. We got upgraded to a room with a bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in. A double bath with jacuzzi to relax in after a day's walking, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. If you are looking for a bit a luxury as a treat this is the place to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for room 24 probably the best room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    97
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
90
192
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked a double D,B&B rate for £110. The deal was for a standard room. I had emailed the hotel requesting a specific room (as they show pictures on their website)

On our arrival, they had upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite (Room 21). Now on first inspection, all looks well, but unfortunately there are (as A K points out in a previous review) some few issues with this room. There is a very rickety sideboard which holds the tv, which should really be addressed. The bathroom floor has a huge crack along the length of the room, which is a shame, as it looks recently refurbished. The taps were very loose and the shower attachment which is part of the jacuzzi leaked. No upright shower. No mirror close enough to a plug in order to dry hair and not good lighting for make up etc. There was (apparently) wifi available, but this did not work on 2 appliances that I tried to use in the room. Did not work either in the dining room, but did work in the foyer. Leather sofa in the room was a good bonus, and the view from the two windows over the golf course was very pleasant.

The hotel attracts ramblers and obviously golfers, and I think this has an effect on the carpets in the hotel...they definitely need replacing. They are mostly light coloured and plain, which are showing quite a few stains. Some areas like doors need a coat of paint.....all minor points, but things that could easily be addressed without much cost and done quickly.

Now to the best bit......the dinner! As previously mentioned, we were on a D,B&B rate of £110. We were expecting a 'limit' on what we could order, but the charming young lady told us that we could order absolutely anything off the menu...with NO limit! What a pleasant surprise. The food was excellent. The fillet steak was melt in the mouth, and whilst not a criticism, the portions are huge! It was very quiet in the restaurant...so quiet, we were the only ones there!

Breakfast was the usual fayre .....but the sausages seemed like Walls sausages?! I was expecting better having sampled the excellent dinner. No huge issues though.

In a nutshell....we had a really good stay with excellent food and given the great price, we would definitely stay again, but if you are looking for attention to detail regarding room presentation and overall pristine conditions, then this hotel may not be for you..unless they are planning a refurbishment soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandhurst
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were a group of 32 walkers and stayed at the Old Rectory for a long weekend. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. The food was wonderful (and such large portions) and the service first-class. Nothing was too much trouble for Sophie, Shaun and the team, and all members of the group were very complimentary about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pictonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I and a group of twelve walkers came upon the Old Rectory purely by accident during a walk in the area. We were welcomed in for a look at the place with no obligation (even in our walking gear). After having a coffee and friendly chat with the staff a decision was made to eat there that night. Wow! What a good decision. The food was first class and the service, if possible, better. By the time the evening ended we all felt like V.I.P.s.
Where to eat the next night wasn't really in doubt, and true to form the food and service were exemplary. The venue now is high on the list for a further visit serving as our accommodation too. The rates were only slightly higher than we had paid for self catering in a barn conversion.

Room Tip: Non residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were booked to stay as part of my brothers wedding party. When we arrived the whole place seemed very nice. We checked into our room (had booked a family room but were given 2 rooms with an adjoining door) and left our suitcases whilst we went to the wedding breakfast. Halfway through the meal, my son wanted to go to the toilet, so took the key and went, 2 minutes later he was back saying the room door was already open and he didn't see our suitcases. I went down immediately and our suitcases was indeed gone. The door at the end of the corridor leading to the golf course was also wide open. we searched both rooms and our cases were nowhere to be seen. I spoke to the 'duty manager' who dropped everything to assist us. My family got upset at the thought someone had been into our room and taken our cases, after about 10 minutes a member of staff came into our room and told us that our cases had been moved to another room. When asked why we were told it must have been at our instruction. Why would we make such a fuss if we had asked for our rooms to be moved. The duty manager did apologise and said he would sort us out with some drinks on the house as way of an apology, well we're still waiting.....We decided that we would not stay at the venue after the upset caused, so I gave the keys in at the bar. The next morning we had arranged breakfast with the family so returned. The manageress started to explain to us the situation and gave us the bill. I said I wasn't happy about the events at which point man whom I later found out was the owner butted in and told us to pay the bill and get out....What a charming attitude this individual has and yes I'm being sarcastic, unbelievable rudeness. I explained that we never even stayed in his hotel so definately wouldn't be paying. I find it quite incredelous that a hotel doesn't even know who is staying at their hotel, just imagine if a fire had broke out, the fire service would still be looking for us. we were told to leave our name and address and would be sent a voucher for a free weekend stay. As I write this almost 2 months later we are still waiting. I found the owners attitude very rude and aggresive as i overheard someone else being told 'if you don't like it then you can just leave now.' and not once did this man apologise for any upset that may have been caused. We have stayed in many many hotels in the UK but this experience is by far the worse.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else as owner has a terrible attitude to any problems that may occur, and please don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papaplonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had a five night stay with a Secret Hills walking group. The hotel is an architectural and historical gem in a super setting, ideal for a variety of walks straight from the door. The staff are absolutely outstanding - friendly, efficient, enthusiastic, helpful and tolerant. It would be very difficult to find a better team for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Not everything was ideal, though, with a number of niggles with the accommodation which, whilst not in any way critical, slightly marred our stay. Our room (No 8) was a very good size (with an extra single bed I assume it's a family room). There were no easy chairs, so it was necessary to sit on the bed to watch the television, no dressing table or mirror (the only mirror being in the en-suite - not ideal for making-up) and the flat surfaces were taken up with the T.V. and Sky box, the hospitality tray/kettle and the telephone. Nowhere flat to put bits and pieces of our own.
Hotels seem to have given up on providing coat hooks on doors, which I find very annoying, particularly when wet coats have to find a home and the floor, or the shower, are the only possibilities.
Too few coat hangers, several of which were of the thin plastic 'shape-shifter' type where anything more than a shirt caused terminal subsidence!
I know these are minor inconveniences, but it would be simple (and cheap) to rectify them and greatly improve visitor satisfaction.
The food is fantastic, with a substantial and extensive breakfast menu, which really set us up for the day. The evening meals had a problem - there was far too much food! The portions served were vast and I was concerned at the amount of food being sent back at the end of the meal. Reducing the portions by a third (or even a half) would have been ample and we wouldn't have felt so embarrassed at not eating it all! (And we had been out hill walking all day and came back with sizeable appetites). Looking round the restaurant, other diners were having the same problem - over-sized portions actually put people off, apart from being wasteful.
Each landing has a stock of refrigerated bottled water (a nice touch). However, for a hotel which prides itself on serving local produce, why does the bottled water come either from France or Ireland? Wales isn't short of water (as we found on several of our walks) so why not provide Welsh water?
Whinging aside, we really enjoyed our stay, would use the hotel again if staying in the area and would certainly recommend it. The staff deserve a pay rise!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We would like to thank all the staff at the old rectory for making our stay very enjoyable we were made to feel so welcome especially our dog Taz. The food was amazing staff incredible nothing was too much trouble we really had a lovely relaxed break we will definately be staying with you again. What an excellent run hotel in an idylic location beautiful. Many thanks the Hunt family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing