We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

loved our stay here. Booked for 2 nights but changed our plans & stayed 4. Staff, breakfast, building all beautiful. Room was gorgeous, plenty of space for 2 cots. Huge bathroom. Kids slept well. Staff were very friendly. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone & plan to return. Great location to do Brecon Beacons.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

I booked this coming weekend at The Old Rectory over a month ago for my partner's birthday, and today, Wednesday, 2 days before we were to arrive I received a phone call telling me the hotel's boiler is broken and they're unable to fix it by the time we arrive, thus, they have moved our reservation to another hotel.

I spent ages choosing this exact location and while they can't help it if their boiler has broken, I find it hard to believe it will take more than 2 days to rectify, and feel that based on this last minute issue for someone who booked in advance, they should be upgrading us to the nicest room in the new hotel, which is in fact an inn/pub, and not a hotel at all.

I cannot speak for the place they've moved us to as we've not seen it, but I have to say I'm really disappointed that not only did the hotel itself not call me (the travel website did) to apologise, but I'm being basically downgraded.

It's a shame, but based on this I don't believe I'll ever try to book here again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank clh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerP33, Owner at The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Unfortunately one of our boilers broke down the week before this gentlemans visit, which required a part, necessitating a short delay while we waited for it to be fixed. As we were very busy on this weekend we were unable to accomodate him in another part of the hotel. We tried to contact the guest directly, but as we could not get through contacted Booking.com whom he had booked through. They arranged to move him to The Bear Hotel which is well thought of locally. We followed up this move, and paid the Bear ourselves for him to be upgraded to one of their best rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We only used the bar for lunch.
Having been a member of the golf club 40 years back and also held our wedding reception there, we were intrigued to visit the Old Rectory.
Such a shame to see the course completely deserted. There have been great improvements made to the hotel itself but a shame to see such complete dis-interest from the bar staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

"Friendly staff, amazing room with four-poster bed and jet-bath in ultra modern bathroom - all included in our standard room. Cleanest rooms I have ever been in. Hearty pub with good dinner. Free round of golf on the 9-hole course adorned with apple trees and the most beautiful sunset views over the town. It is uphill for some parts so load your bag onto the trolleys provided. Perfect for amateurs/absolute beginners. (they supplied some clubs for us). Absolutely idyllic and well situated for Breacon Beacons discovery trips. Perfect for one night - but would have liked to stay two for another round of gholf and to just sit outside and soak up the tranquility and beautiful views. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room 21 no shower but jet-bath! Or else upgrade for a room with a fireplace.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel was a great find and we will return. Everything exceeded expectations. The room was wonderful, and with a two year old in tow we appreciated the lounge area and generous space. Breakfast was divine, one of the best I have had. The views are subime and all the Brecons has to offer is on the doorstep. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Satisfactory rooms, very good breakfast & dinners, close to walking trails & a lovely setting. Very peaceful and close to shops in Crickhowell.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I paid months in advance and the booking wasn't processed; we got a room in the attic, which was hot in the beginning, but cooled down eventually; we needed to prepare the cod ourselfs, but then we had a nice pint in the lovely garden and enjoyed the dinner very much; the service tried hard but couldn't achieve the standard of a 4-star hotel; nice stay altogether

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niceplaces10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
605 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
959 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
527 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing