We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Place Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Llangattock B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our party consisted of 2 adults. On arrival we were greeted very warmly and welcomed with fresh coffee and welsh cakes, which were much appreciated at that time of night. The B+B is very homely and we instantly felt at ease. Our room was large, clean, and the beds big and comfy. Bathroom clean and pleasant.

Breakfast was a big welsh fry up (our choice of a number of different items on the menu) and whilst obviously far from healthy was a hearty and tasty start to the day.

It is minutes walk from town where there are some excellent pub restaurants.
I really cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapsmum, Owner at Park Place Guest House, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thankyou so much for your encouraging review, we are so glad you had a good stay.
It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
32
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Lots of nice little touches made this a very welcoming B&B. it's clear to see that the owners have thought about what makes somewhere a nice place to stay.

We had a lovely weekend, and Park Place Guesthouse was a key part of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our party comprised two adults and a child, and we’d booked the Park Place guesthouse for 3 nights as our base for a family wedding (at The Old Rectory, Crickhowell) plus a bit of extra time to explore the local area.

The guesthouse was very easy to find (even the most sat-nav dependant should not struggle) and had a large, safe parking area. The immediate scenery was absolutely lovely, right by the river, and it’s well appointed location means you are only a short walk to the nearest amenities (pubs, restaurants, shops, bank, etc).

Graham and Maxine (our hosts) were friendly and accommodating from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble, and they provided us with plenty of excellent tips to make the most of our short ‘mini-break’. Little touches like a pot of tea and Welsh cakes on arrival (in the comfy guest room), and daily chocolates on the pillows in our room were appreciated by us all.

After the Saturday wedding and reception was out of the way (and our hosts accommodated our late rise for breakfast without comment!), we followed Grahams recommendation for the Sunday and headed to the ‘Big Pit’ national coal museum in Blaenavon. An amazing and informative day (which our 7yr old enjoyed as much as we did) which educated and excited us in equal measure. I must observe also that it was such a pleasure not to be restrained by the health and safety brigade we seem to encounter at English attractions and to be left totally to our own devices (after the organised mine tour) on the site to wander wherever we chose, and see the place just as it had been left when it packed up. We left with an appreciation of how brave those mining men were, and how hard life must have been for that community. The Monday recommendation from Graham and Maxine was to go home via ‘Tintern Abbey’, which was jaw-droppingly gorgeous (just as they had predicted). A good walk round the site, and a cream tea shop lunch, rounded off our visit to this beautiful part of the country perfectly. Another observation of ours was that we wished our roads (South East of England) were as well maintained as the ones we’d encountered the other side of the bridge, their lanes are better than our main roads!

So, a review of the accommodation. Well, our room was a comfortable size and refreshingly hadn’t been subjected to the seemingly generic Travelodge look and feel, or the alternative of overly indulgent boutique styling. Instead, it was airy, pleasant, with simple but comfortable styling that was unfussy and met our needs pretty much perfectly. The only negative we spoke of room-wise was that our mattress was probably nearing retirement age (our daughters was absolutely fine though). We had a separate (immediately outside the room) light and airy bathroom with a really good shower. Everywhere was clean and well kept, and as mentioned the hosts were obliging in all things (rustling up needle and thread for an emergency modification to our little ones wedding attire, some ironing facilities, and a hairdryer, when requested). Our room was always well stocked with hot drink making facilities, biscuits and even orange juice pots. Breakfast was more than sufficient, eminently tailorable, and (I would say) better than we’d expected for the price (which I would say was very reasonable).

In fact, having spoke to family and other wedding guests who had pretty much covered the full array of Crickhowells accommodation, I feel that we got a little more than we paid for, whilst those we spoke too felt they’d gotten a little less. So I guess it’s hard to give a better summary than that. We will definitely return next time we’re in the area, in fact quality accommodation and nice people like that make you plan to do so. Thank you so much.

Only bad comment (nothing to do with where we stayed, just an observation) was the very poor Chinese meal a group of us had on the Sunday night (Beaufort China Gourmet). Very pricy and very disappointing quality wise (couldn’t fault the service though). Maybe it was just a bad night there, but we all felt it was worth pointing out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosbts1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed for just one day as we were going to a wedding in the area. Everything was good. Lunch and breakfast were excellent, the room was comfortable, clean and well appointed, parking convenient, the people friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Outstanding food

Lovely bed

Friendly proprietor

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1948trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Great service, nice rooms, big breakfast. Rose room, lovely bathroom but not en suite, lots of toiletries ie bubble bath & bath salts. Don't recommend dinner, expected fresh, home cooked (home made), local food; got frozen mixed veges, overdone lamb; pate, gravy & puddings all from a packet. Plentiful, but not overly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I am not normally one to write reviews but after staying at the Park Place guest house I felt I had to make an exception. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, with lovely sized rooms (all individually and carefully decorated). The whole family is very polite and helpful and breakfast and general service is brilliant. I had such a fantastic time and stay here and I will definitely book this B&B again. Travelling as a single woman I felt safe and looked after and I highly recommend this place to anyone, whether you are travelling on your own or as a family.

Looking forward to my next stay.

Anja

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Guest House

Property: Park Place Guest House
Address: Park Farm Lodge The Legar, Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1HH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Place Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and superb 4 star guest house offering low price bed and breakfast accommodation in the Brecon Beacons, overlooking the river Usk, and only 10 minutes walk to Crickhowell town centre, offering stunning views of the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons. Conveniently located for those wishing to take part in a multitude of activities including walking, fishing, orienteering, gliding, hang-gliding, canoeing, kayaking, cycling, mountain biking, climbing, sailing & windsurfing, horse riding, caving and cave diving or just relaxing away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Park Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing