We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Luxury canal boat Adventure”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
171 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 171 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MrsCliffo...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Luxury canal boat Adventure”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had the most amazing Honeymoon using Brecon park boats! We had booked OWL which is the one with the hot tub!! it was the cutest canal boat and ideal for two people! Slightly wider then most its a bit of a squeeze through the bridges, but it was exquisite and so much fun! The boat was pure luxury inside the bed was so comfy my new husband didnt want to get out of it! The hot tub was incredible so nice to stop in the middle of nowhere and moore the boat up get some champers out and lay in the tub! We can honestly say everyday was an adventure, the views are breath taking. The staff at Brecon park boats were lovely, we arrived early and we got out on our boat very quickly, the booking process is very easy everything done online and very friendly and helpful when we got there! We can both say it was the best holiday we have ever had!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
What a tremendous review! Thank you so much. We are delighted that you chose Beacon Park Boats for your honeymoon, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCGuis...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection in all aspects”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The visually stunning nature of the high quality marina was an impressive start, as was the very warm welcome from all the staff at Beacon Park Boats.
'Puffin' is really a five star hotel suite. High quality fittings, top of the range audio equipment in each bedroom and lounge, quality Welsh blankets and cushions , fresh cut flowers in little vases and not forgetting the welcome pack. The Welsh cakes were so delicious that we bought lots more during the week!
A very useful feature was the library of maps and guides on board, including books on the topography,geology, botany and history of the area - a useful adjunct to the walks in the canal guide provided. Even, as first timers on a narrow boat, we still found the 'week long active' itinerary easily do able. The only regret was not being able to concentrate on turning the boat round at Birdspool Bridge winding hole and photograph a kingfisher repeatedly diving for fish alongside,at the same time. Overall -perfection indeed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to a leave a review about your holiday on Puffin. It's lovely to read that you managed to spot a kingfisher, and that you enjoyed the range of maps and guides on aboard - we find them useful ourselves when going out for walks. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossAndLu...
Crete
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Economy or Business Class”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Business class cost more but once you have tried it you will not want to go back to economy. That is the difference between Beacon Park Boats and the others on the canal.

We have hired both Owl and Heron. The craft are fitted to the highest standard throughout with high quality products. We preferred the layout of Owl finding the position of the wet room in Heron not to our liking and if the bed was slid out as suggested left insufficient room to get down either side. Having said that the bed was very comfortable and the wet room luxurious.

Sarah and Alasdair are very friendly and helpful people backed by a competent team. We had two problems one of our making and the other a fault which developed during the trip. On both occasions Jason the engineer came out within fifteen minutes to fix the problem. I must congratulate him on fixing an annoying squeak with the clever use of a jubilee clip which ensured we had a wonderful weeks holiday. I was told that when the boat arrived back that he would take it out of the water, replace the faulty part and have it ready for their next customers that afternoon. To me that says putting the customer first. The flap jack they provide at reception is nearly worth the cost of hire alone.

The canal is mostly narrow, winding and shallow. The Beacon Park Boats are large compared to others on the navigation and you can expect to run aground or find a turn in the canal tight, however all their craft have bow thrusters which are a help but not essential. Just potter along on tick over and you will find it easy to navigate the narrow bridges and tight turns.

On our last holiday we hardly went faster that tick over and cruised to Brecon and back with half a day to spare.

The first night we moored at bridge 131 there is water there and mooring rings. Do not moor next to the water tap unless filling up with water. The next day we went through the locks mooring over night above the top lock. The food at the coach and horses is excellent. There is also a short walk to a small waterfall.

The third night we stayed at Talybont. Walk 5 in the book provided follows an old industrial tramway and has views of the reservoir. The Ashford tunnel becomes very low and narrow but taken on tick over and with a light hand on the tiller is easily passed through.

The fourth night we stayed at Brecon.

We then started our return, just after bridge 163 the canal turns and goes over the River Usk on the Brynich Aqueduct. Here you will find a beautiful spot to stop to make coffee or lunch. Walk across the aqueduct and look out for people doing fly fishing in the river below. Take to narrow path down to the Usk. On a sunny day a loverly place to spend a few hours and still plenty of time to reach Talybont for your overnight moorings.

The sixth night we moored below the bottom lock and again ate at the Coach and Horses. This left a relaxing travel back to the boat yard for overnight moorings before departure. Arriving at midday we followed walk 4 in the book provided. Again this follows an old industrial tramway but the course of the way goes up a very steep slope, you will need sensible footwear.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for this comprehensive review of your recent holiday. Sounds like you had a lovely time, and we are delighted that you appreciated the facilities on board our 5-star fleet and the service our team provides. We hope to welcome you back to the Mon & Brec canal in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Leisurely glide through stunning scenery.”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having booked , we received an information pack and a D.V.D. Very professional attention from start to finish . On arrival we drove through security gates , reassuring us that our car would be safe whilst on the boat .Friendly staff greeted us and refreshments offered , even our dog was made ro feel welcome and offered a blanket to use on board . Entering the boat was like going into a well appointed flat . There was a complimentary bottle , welsh cakes and jam on the table . China , cooking utensils and bedding all top quality . The very attractive shower had liquid soap and skin cream by the basin . Having stowed our clothes etc . in plenty of cupboards and drawers we were given advice before setting off . A very useful booklet guided us every step of the way . As well as giving hints on the best way to negotiate bridges and locks etc. It also gave a narrative of interesting places to look at along the way . Two big folders contained information of handling the boat , how to use facilities and places to visit on shore . A lot of thought has gone into the enjoyment and comfort on board , little details added such as a note pad and pen . Another time we would check the size of bunks as I ended up sleeping on the floor , much to our dogs amusement . The problem was the double bed being too narrow My husband has a new hip and needs room to turn and stretch . Despite my loss of sleep I loved the holiday and can't wait to go again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your holiday on the Mon and Brec canal. Our boats range in size, and generally the wider the boat, the wider the beds. So if you're looking for a wider bed next time, you'll be pleased to hear that over half the boats in our fleet have double beds that are 5ft wide. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M
1 review
“Best narrowboat we've been on”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent boat and friendly service. Great scenery along the canal. Best narrowboat we've been on by far.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
We strive to delight our customers so we are absolutely thrilled that you rated your recent narrowboat holiday so highly. Thank you for leaving a review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaHa...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Canal”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Two of us (plus dog) stayed on Kestrel at the beginning of May for 4 nights. Everything about Beacon Park Boats was extremely professional from the booking and information pack (including suggested itineraries and DVD) to the 'hands on' instruction for using the boat. I don't think you could possibly find more luxurious canal boats - we even had a very comfortable 5' bed - wonderful in such a small space. The boat was extremely well fitted out and had everything you could possibly need.

I am amazed that there are any reviews on Trip Advisor with a less than excellent score and I can only think that some people did not plan or think about their trip enough beforehand.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this Company and would certainly use them again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Delighted to read that you and your dog thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, cruising on Kestrel. We strive to provide everything that will make a holiday really special, and are so pleased that you enjoyed all that the 5-star narrowboat had to offer. We hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Arv...
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly nice boat. Great nice setting. We loved it.”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We did a comprehensive examination of all possible destinations before choosing Brecon & Monmouthshire canal. Brecon & Monmouthshire canal must be one of the very best canals in Britain. In many canals you have no view, but since this canal is up in the hillside you have a great view.

We (4 adults) rented Grouse — a really big boat. One of the local residents told us that this was the best boat on the canal. We agree. We loved the boat, the surroundings and the staff at Beacon Park Boats. A big thank you to the nice Welsh citizens.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
We are delighted that you chose the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal for your holiday. According to many people, it is the most picturesque canal in the UK - and we couldn't agree more. Really pleased to read that you fell in love with our narrowboat, Grouse. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing