We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice food”
Review of The Boars Head

The Boars Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Templeton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under current management since July 2013, the Boars Head has been fully refurbished to restore the character of this pub/restaurant. With one of the finest chefs in Pembrokeshire serving only freshly cooked meals using the very best fresh local produce, we are very confident you will enjoy your visit. Locals and holiday-makers are all welcomed with open arms in this quaint, plush and friendly establishment that serves the very best food and drink in the area. We look forward to seeing you at the Boars Head.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was surprised by the quality of the food, everything seemed freshly cooked, home made chips, perhaps a little expensive, but don't let this put you off as it was tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at The Boars Head, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Thanks so much for recommending the Boars Head. We're really glad you enjoyed your recent visit and we all hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    82
    33
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited on May 29th for a meal to celebrate my birthday after friends recommended the pub. Well decorated, nice atmosphere and the food was delicious. The steak was one if the best I've ever had. Great taste and cooked perfectly!

Helpful?
Thank Nicholasbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at The Boars Head, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Nicholas, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We're really glad you enjoyed your visit to the Boars Head and we hope your visit went some way to making it a great Birthday! Thanks very much for sharing your lovely review for others to see, it's really important for us and we're very grateful. Hope to see you again soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Popped in on our way home from Bluestone. Food was amazing. Partner and I both had club sandwiches which were delicious! Loved the real chips! Could tell all staff make a huge effort for customer satisfaction. Would recommend to anyone just a shame we dont live closer. Will have to drive the 90 miles to eat the cawl I missed out on today but I know I won't be disappointed. Thanks for being the icing on the cake for our lovely break xxx

Helpful?
Thank shoequeen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at The Boars Head, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Thanks so much for your lovely comments, they really mean the world to us. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Boars Head and we hope to see you again soon when you're next in the area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious and Delightful”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Superb evening meal with family. Kids loved it and wife was happy with a decent vegaterian selection. Portion are HUGE and tasty. Recommend the Hunters Chicken Burger! Would highly recommend and not far from Bluestones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamInRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at The Boars Head, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Thanks for the lovely comments, we're really glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Boars Head. Thanks so much for recommending to others, it's so important for us and we really appreciate it. We hope to see you all again soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best sausages my husband has had in a restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went here for lunch with our young baby. We were sat quite close to a plug in air freshener which personally I found annoying and irritated mine and my daughters allergies but they switched it off when we asked. The staff were lovely. I had a steak and chorizo ciabatta and it was amazing. Big chunky chips lovely side salad and caramelised onions. My husband had the sausage and mash and the sausages were lovely. Proper meaty fresh sausages with a meaty texture. He said they were the best he had in a long time. The baby had sweet potato fries which they had managed to get crispy which was nice. Def recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieRoseCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Owner at The Boars Head, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Susie, many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We're really glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Boars Head. Thanks so much for your lovely comments and feedback, they mean the world to us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boars Head also viewed

 
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 
Robeston Wathen, Narberth
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Boars Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing