We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every ways”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room view
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Living Room view
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Bathroom
Bedroom King Size Bed
View from the Bedroom
Patio from Back Bedroom
View from the kitchen window
Kitchen
Kitchen
Summer Sunset from Patio
Sunset 8th June 2113
Sundown 8th June 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanmadoc, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Thucydide...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect in every ways”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Applecroft is absolutely perfect in every way. It is located in a very nice and quiet village, it is perfectly located for a number of walks. The garden offers fantastic views. Last but not least, the property is absolutely spotless. Apple croft makes you feel like you are staying in a high end professionally managed accommodation in terms of cleanliness, equipment and amenities. It is nice to arrive somewhere and see that everything has been thought of to make your stay as great as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments on Applecroft and Llanmadoc.
Our guests regularly make comments about the wonderful walks that can be made from the cottage without having to get into a car.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Applecroft is as near to the perfect holiday cottage as I have ever found. It is absolutely immaculate and in a lovely location, with so many walks from the door that we only used the car once in a week. The garden is well kept, and secure for dogs, and is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. There are so many little touches which make it feel like home, and the welcome pack was very welcome indeed! Roger and Menna are lovely people, and are on hand if you need them, without being unnecessarily obtrusive. The local shop is great for tea and cakes, but not particularly well stocked in terms of groceries, certainly not enough to keep you going for the week. My tip is to do your shopping online before you go and get it delivered when you arrive. There is a real community feel about Llanmadoc, and everyone was very welcoming and friendly. It really is a walkers paradise. You have miles of empty sandy beaches, dunes, woodland, marshland, hills and farmland all together in one location. Simply stunning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The steep walk back to the cottage from the beach!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thank you both for such a positive, detailed review. We are so pleased that you found Applecroft perfect for your holiday and also Llanmadoc itself. Your comments about our shop's groceries have been passed on to the committee.
We hope we will see again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deekster
Leics U.K
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch !”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed recently at Applecroft on our first visit to 'The Gower'. I am horribly tempted to say what a terrible place this was - purely because I want to keep it for ourselves !!
Applecroft proved the perfect base for what turned out to be a hugely enjoyable week away from home. And it felt just like home too. Roger and Menna could have done not one thing more to make our stay exceptional. Everything was catered for by way of what you would need for your time away from home. The welcome pack was very thoughtful and generous.
The cottage is perfectly situated for a quiet,relaxing week. There are plenty of good walks straight outside the door. To benefit to the maximum you need a degree of fitness to get up and down the hiils and down to the beach and back.That said, if you are less able then there is plenty to see in the surrounding area, with a huge variety in Land and Seascape all around. The beaches are legendary in this area and rightly so.
The village benefits from a well stocked Shop, and the local Pub - The Brittania Inn - is a total asset. We used it 3 times during our stay for meals and could genuinely not fault a thing ! The local 'brew' - from the Gower Brewery is a bonus on top.
The locals are a very friendly bunch too.
Back to the cottage. It was a huge bonus that we could take our little dog 'Barney'. Whilst the cottage caters for dogs, you would never know, as the place was spotless and totally 'doggy odour' free on arrival.
We are smitten and vow to return. We were blessed with great weather and made use of the patio at the rear to take in the spectacular views over to the estuary.
Loved it. Well done you two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed Gower, Llanmadoc and also Applecroft itself. We strive hard to make everything as comfortable as possible for our guests and with reviews like this, it pays off.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
74maggie
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Extremely comfortable, dog friendly cottage with views to die for.”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Best of very many holiday cottage we've stayed at. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and sofas on one level, dog friendly and a very generous welcome pack. Friendly village with good dog friendly pub and shop for basics and home made fare. Beautiful beaches easily walkable from cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, welcome, location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
We are so pleased you had a good time and thank you for the lovely comments about Applecroft. We try our best to make our guests be as comfortable as possible.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Roger & Menna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay.”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After travelling from our home in Spain, this has been our second extended summer holiday at Applecroft. Despite having been unlucky with the weather, this year, we have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this perfect accommodation with the lovely ambience of the surrounding countryside. Also of note is the warmth of welcome received from local residents and fellow visitors. The sheer beauty of the place seems to bring a smile to people's faces.
Thank you, Menna & Roger. We love Applecroft - this also goes for Rosie, our dog.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection ! - We came home and booked again for the following year !”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Wow !!! What an amazing place !!!
I booked to come and stay at "Applecroft" with some friends of ours from Germany (and their gorgeous dog !) who always holiday with us in the UK. We were all overwhelmed when we arrived, everything about the place was stunning - The location, the views, the cleanliness & decor of the house, the wonderful gardens & the little touches that the owners add, they really have thought of everything here.
It's not always easy to find a property of this standard that will allow pets but I have to say that it was the most pet friendly house we have ever stayed in, Joy the golden retriever certainly enjoyed it & can't wait to return ! In fact, that goes for all of us, we came home and booked up to go back as it really was that good !
You will not be disappointed if you holiday here !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: superb location & friendly owners
Liked least: nothing !!!!!!!!1
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed Applecroft and Llanmadog. Thank you and to all others who have written reviews for such positive feedback, we really appreciate it as having a holiday let is new to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again this year. It is so nice to see our guests return.
Thank you
Roger & Menna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gypsyjumb...
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic for dog glad she let us stay with her!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Long journey all forgotten when we arrived at Applecroft - fabulous facilities , view to die for , spotless and warm welcome from Menna and Roger ! Doggy heaven altho being lambing time an extendable lead needed for excited spaniel . Village shop almost next door in case we wanted to cook but with so many local lovely pubs no need and Brittannia Arms 10 min stroll away the best of all of them .the locals were amazingly friendly and welcoming too
Hill beach wood and forest walks all great but of course the almost empty sandy beaches -3 miles long the most exciting for the dog ! 100pc recommendation as a a holiday cottage and if you don't like dogs it's cleaned so thoroughly one would need know they were allowed ( apart from a welcome water bowl in the porch !!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing