We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a lovely pub. Sitting in the garden, there is a beautiful view of the sandy bay in the distance. Really good food and very reasonably priced. Friendly, helpful staff too. Would certainly recommend.
Lovely, spacious outside eating area with plenty of room for children to run around, there is even a small climbing frame and some pet rabbits!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for writing your review. It has been so nice that our customers have been able to enjoy the garden so much this year. The garden has been voted one of the top ten in the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 459 of 633 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here on the spur of the moment, early Sunday evening. What a find! Great food, fast friendly service. It looks a very ordinary pub so we were pleased to find an interesting menu. Food was well cooked and presented. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Yvonne2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Britannia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had heard good things about the Britannia and we weren't disappointed. We were the only customers in the restaurant but others were eating in the bar and outside. The battered fish was good, with "real" crispy batter. My vegetable Thai curry was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eag387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Britannia is one of those rather old fashioned pubs that closes in the afternoon. We'd visited several previously whilst in the area to find it closed so decided to give it a go one evening. Definitely a good idea.

The view from the rear garden is spectacular although there are a lot of signs telling you not to do things.

The ale was well kept and the food really good. The mackerel starter I had was to die for! The wine list was also well selected.

The only criticisms were the awful cutlery and that the service was a little quick, giving the impression that they all wanted to go home early.

Thank resident_nobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you persevered and that you enjoyed your visit.

We close the restaurant in the afternoon as this reflects the level of demand for the service at these times. The bar is open daily from 12 till late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently held a 60th Birthday treat for friends and family. After a morning clay pigeon shooting on the beach with the Cwm Ivy Clay Shooting Club we returned to the Britannia Inn for drinks and a buffet. I cannot fault the food or the helpful service we received from Lindsey and Martin. Everybody in the party was very impressed with the added bonus that the views from the beer garden are outstanding.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickygJ2664PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

So glad that your special day was spent with us and that everything went well. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
Llangennith, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing