We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Buffet”
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently held a 60th Birthday treat for friends and family. After a morning clay pigeon shooting on the beach with the Cwm Ivy Clay Shooting Club we returned to the Britannia Inn for drinks and a buffet. I cannot fault the food or the helpful service we received from Lindsey and Martin. Everybody in the party was very impressed with the added bonus that the views from the beer garden are outstanding.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickygJ2664PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

So glad that your special day was spent with us and that everything went well. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 626 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a top quality meal at The Britannia and would not hesitate to recommend it. Four of us each had something different and we all were totally satisfied all round. Desserts were exceptional. Service delightful too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just spent three nights in the Gower and could not have done better than eating each night at this Inn which was within 100 yards of our guest house the Tallizmand). Superb home cooked food from an extensive menu with excellent service from very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Britannia Inn and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely setting with wonderful views. Great for dogs. We had lunch there and the weather was sunny and warm.
My husband had mussels to start with and they were gorgeous with saffron,chilli, coriander and slight hint of curry with homemade bread. The fragrance and crunch of the coriander was sublime and the mussels were fat and juicy. We had welsh steak and ale pie and marsh lamb burger for mains and they were delicious. Short crust pastry was crisp and the chips were prefect. The local Gower gold beer was excellent and the service and welcome was top notch. Our dog also loved his titbits. I would not hesitate to return.

1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you and your dog enjoyed your visit o the Britannia Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

It was our last evening in The Gower Peninsular and we were deciding (between 3 establishments) where to have dinner.Luckily we decided on the Britannia Inn. 5 adults all hungry so off we drove. The views getting to the Inn were amazing ....this part of Wales is just stunning... in every direction!
Of course we hadn't booked so were initially disappointed to see that the restaurant was full. BUT a very polite young man opened up an annex to the restaurant where we could dine.
The menu choice was comprehensive and, when arrived, quite delicious.Two courses and a round of drinks for the 5 of us came to just under £100. No complaints!
Should we be fortunate to visit The Gower again, then this establishment will be on the places to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pandaleous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We are pleased that you chose the Britannia Inn for your final meal during your visit to Gower. Thank you for taking time to write this review, we hope you make it to Gower again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Llangennith, Swansea County
Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing