We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Gower food and a great welcome”
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious Gower food and a great welcome”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Coming up to a big birthday for my wife so we booked a lunchtime table for 7 at the Britannia Inn in Llanmadoc, arriving on a wet blustery Saturday in February 2014. We were met with a warm welcome from waitress Ciara, settled into the comfy restaurant section up a very short flight of stairs - level access can be arranged if you have a family member with mobility problems. Enjoyed a tasty pint of Gower Gold, and the family chose from the good selection on the menu. I had a classic Welsh starter of cockles, laverbread (seaweed) and chopped bacon with quail's egg on fresh bread, next a Welsh salt-marsh lamb burger with chips, and a desert of chocolate cake with orange sorbet. My wife had a tasty vegetarian selection, my in-laws the fish-based dishes, and my mother the duck - all excellent, and served with a smile. Good selection of wines from local wine merchants N.D.John
Prices were very reasonable and the food wasn't just tasty, it was beautifully presented. Will look forward to returning in future - the Britannia has plenty of space outside for the warmer months with a view towards the sea, but if worth a visit any time of year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonnaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your very excellent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    118
    35
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I visited for lunch soon after the pub had opened for the day. I had the hake and chips, and she had the steak and ale pie. I was brought the wrong meal, but the mistake was corrected almost immediately and I didn't have to wait long until the correct one was served. Both the barman and chef apologised, although really there was no need. The portions were generous and both meals were delicious, especially the chips! We were also joined by a friendly white cat sitting with us in the bar. Probably not to everyone's taste, but we enjoyed it :)

Thanks for a lovely meal, we will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shuandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the company of the cat, Pheobe as well as your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just returned from having a very good Sunday lunch. The Welsh Beef was well cooked and tasted as it should. The service was professional and fast. No sooner had we sat down than the food was delivered to our table. The plates were just warm and could have been hotter but that is a minor point compared with the excellence of the meal. Judging by how busy the restaurant was this place is worthy of its reputation for good, honest and tasty food. It could be that the young staff members have not had the training but I did think that the table clearing could have been better. The table opposite ours had glasses on it from the time we arrived and they were still there when we left along with our first course plates etc. Overall though a very pleasant experience and we would like to return to try some of the other dishes on the menu. Well done Lindsey,Martin and staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, and your positive comments. I apologise for the late clearing of the glasses etc, we hope to do better when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday bounty!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is our "local" and it has never disappointed us. Game themed menu last night was fabulous; amazing flavours and several ingredients I had never tasted before. Our party of 8 all had a wonderful time and didn't leave until 11pm. Lindsay and team have triumphed again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treebeard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your praise on your review. It is so nice that customers take time to provide such glowing comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Game Themed Supper at The Britannia Inn”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Intrigued by a menu made up predominantly of Game, my wife and I decided to eat at 'The Brit' last night. We have eaten there before from time to time and very much enjoyed their more conventional fare but this was quite special. Seven perfectly cooked and beautifully presented courses that filled us without making us feel that we had been greedy. Well, not very. At just under £30.00 each it was very good value as was the bottle of Rioja we had with the meal. Both restaurant and bar have a cosy and relaxed atmosphere and the service is friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the evening. We hope that you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
Llangennith, Swansea County
 
Oldwalls, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing