We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
West Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I love this pub and decided to take family out for a Sunday lunch. Quite simply it was amazing. From the service to the actual food it could not be faulted.
There was the delightful surprise of an "amuse bouche" before starters arrived, brilliant!

Don't delay book today!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    118
    35
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bar is hit and miss compared to restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tried the ribs in the bar this time, expecting baby back style, but ended up with 3 huge ribs with very little meat. BBQ sauce was nice though. Dessert of Tia Maria creme brulee saved the day, a really nice sweet. Previously, I had locally caught mullet (or hake in fact, as they had no mullet) on crushed potato with a saffron curry cream sauce and mussels. Can't compliment that highly enough. To think that they can serve food of that quality in the bar and then serve such disappointing ribs is surprising, but credit where it's due, it's right much more often than not. And the restaurant itself has never failed to impress me. Will book in there next time for a treat.

A quick note about the newish local ale, Gower Gold. A quality pint! Very pleased they stock it here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herodtheswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is good for us to hear positive critical comments which we feed back to the staff concerned. We are sorry that some aspects of your visit did not please you as much as the rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing!!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great place to go for food and service! We had Sunday lunch In the restaurant today and we were amazed by the service from the waitresses and the great food.
I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and the great comments. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on a short break in the Gower. We had the set menu, which had plenty of interesting choices on it, and found the food excellent, and good value. Service good, and a pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smudge-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Britannia Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value restaurant food in a lovely pub”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After our long journey to the Gower, we had a lovely 3 course lunch for £15.95 at this pub. The standard of food was incredible for this money, so much so we went back the following evening. I would recommend a booking in advance as the pub does get very busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam&Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
thank you for your review. We are glad we were able to provide what you wanted at the end of a long journey. Hope you enjoyed your state on Gower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
Llangennith, Swansea County
 
Oldwalls, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing