We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and inexpensive”
Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Llanmadoc
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Britannia Inn is an 18th Century Restaurant set in the village of Llanmadoc. The award winning restaurant has an excellent reputation for the quality of its food. The decor in the restaurant provides a pleasant atmosphere in which to enjoy meal. There is also a bar menu which can enjoyed in the small friendly bar along with a choice of real ales.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The restaurant was recommended and lived up to expectations. Staff were friendly and service was quick but not rushed. Food was excellent and the menu, though quite small, was different and it was difficult to choose as everything looked delicious. I think you could also order food from the bar menu, which may suit children more. On the whole we had a really nice evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Britannia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 536 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

There is a lack of decent facilities on our peninsula. This place bucks the trend. The owners are clearly making a huge effort to create something a little bit different from some of the rubbish served up in the name of cuisine elsewhere. The food was fine and not overly expensive and the staff who served us were courteous, accommodating and efficient. It was a mid week night and the restaurant was busy which augurs well for its sustainability. The Brit has always been a good place for a drink but I would recomend it to others for its food as well. No place can please everyone all of the time but judging by the overwhleming prepondenrence of reviews its doing pretty good. And yes, we shall return in due course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JG W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Many thanks for your review. Over the last 7 years Martin and LIndsey have worked to establish a restaurant and pub which is different from others in the area and it is so nice that you appreciated that when you visited. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took our 2 grandchildren for an evening meal on August 6th and although the bar staff were having a few issues managing things in the owner/manager's absence, we enjoyed a really good meal on the sunny terrace. So much so that we returned on August 8th and had a pretty poor time of it. The bar man (?owner/manager) was brusque and unfriendly - barking "who's next" when we were the only ones at the bar. We had been recommended the home-made pies which although covered with a lovely pastry, contained a watery stew as opposed to the rich gravy pie that we're used to. However, maybe that's the way they're meant to be and we said nowt. However, the chili con carne which was the prime reason for returning, wasn't a patch on that of 2 days before. The rice was very undercooked and the chilli overpowering. On ordering our dessert, I queried whether it had been prepared by a different chef and was told that "it would have been the same batch". When I showed doubt over that statement, he acknowledged that it was probably a different cook. However, he was completely without sympathy with my polite feedback, took my money for the dessert (which by the way was as good as before - sticky toffee pud) and shouted "who's next?". In other words, he couldn't have cared less. We certainly wouldn't return and have cautioned others over our experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank avroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great restaurant and bar menus. Lovely food including many local dishes that prove excellent value for money. I recommend the "specials" and take the opportunity to try the imaginative dishes on offer as you will be rewarded. A "must" when visiting The Gower - make sure you book as this is understandably a very popular place. Great beer garden - dogs allowed and in the bar. Suitable for all occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FIRSTCRICKETTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments are much appreciated. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were camping at the Hillend site close to the beach, and decided to drive back inland to find a restaurant. We saw a brown sign pointing to The Britannia Inn and decided to follow it, and I'm glad we did!

Although the outside of the building looks a little dated, inside there is a traditional bar and a lovely restaurant, as well as a large garden with a childrens play area and terrace with a beautiful view.

The restaurant was booked up, so we ate in the bar. The food was lovely, and incredibly reasonably priced. A large rump steak with chips and sauteed mushrooms was £10.95, and it was beautifully cooked. 4 of us ate 3 courses, and we were all impressed by all of the dishes.

It was a saturday evening and the weather was lovely, so the pub was busy, but service was still excellent. There were also some locals in the restaurant celebrating a birthday - always a good sign!

I would definitely recommend this pub to anyone visiting The Gower.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sfh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megan2010_11, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Britannia and that you felt that the trip was worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
Llangennith, Swansea County
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing