We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upper Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whittington B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
“Just loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

With a rental car our SatNav found it a bit of a challenge but it was worth a couple of missed directions - a charming place made all the better by a charming hostess. The breakfast was wonderful, add to that a lovely fresh room that is modern but retains the feel of a cottage, we loved it all and will do our best to return one day.

Room Tip: The Cotswald room has a nice en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We planned to write this review about what a wonderful stay we had at the Upper Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast. But after reading the previous reviews, all we can add is that we totally agree with all the other reviews that talked about the beautiful home and accommodations, the gracious hosts, and what a wonderful experience we had. We can add a personal story, however, of how attentive Paul and Helen were to our needs. My daughter left her favorite necklace on the dresser and didn't realize that until we were well into our walk on the Cotswold Trail that day. When we arrived at our next place that night, we contacted Paul and Helen by e-mail to ask if they could mail the necklace to our hotel in Bath. Paul responded right away, even though it was late at night, and advised that they had found the necklace and had put it in an envelope and slipped it into a pocket of the luggage (which was being transported by one of the local walking companies). Sure enough, we looked and there it was. Needless to say we were all impressed and grateful for Paul and Helen's efforts to get the necklace back to us. Of all the ten places we stayed while hiking the Cotswold Trial, we all loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Unfortunately for the other B&B's along the Cotswolds Way, Paul and Helen set a standard at Upper Hill Farm that no others could ever hope to match. From the warm greeting and pot of tea upon arrival to breakfast at departure perfection was the order. This sensitively restored home offered everything a weary hiker (or motor traveler) could have dreamed of. The room was well appointed and the bath offered every amenity possibly needed. The grounds and building were simply spectacular. Helen and Paul's hospitality is something that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulfromoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Upper Hill Farm B&B while hiking the Cotswald Way this past month, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Although a bit off the trail, it is a beautiful location and the house is spectacular. But what really made this B&B stand out were the hosts, Paul and Helen. They went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and that we had anything we needed. It started with tea as soon as we arrived, and continued when Paul drove us several miles into town for dinner in the evening. It even continued after we left - one person in our group left her fleece coat in the room after we checked out, and she assumed it was gone. But who should show up at our hotel the next evening but Paul, bringing her coat. Now that's a gracious host!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B .... after a long day's cycling, we really appreciated being greeted with a pot of tea and some relaxation in the peaceful and wonderfully furnished lounge. We were also given some tips as to where to eat that evening, including Helen kindly booking the table for us and offer of a lift into town!!! Our bedroom again was spacious, very comfortable and had everything we needed. This property is in a peaceful and quiet location ... off the main roads and on top of a hill. We followed the directions and found it, however, I can imagine it could prove challenging to find if you lose focus!!!! Breakfast was superb ... I loved the delicious home made fresh fruit salad and the fact that you could select your own bread and pop it in the toaster yourself. We stored our bikes in the boot of the car .... I have no idea if there is bike storage at this place, since we weren't offered it ... however, not everyone are cyclists!!

Room Tip: There's only 2 rooms .... if the 2nd one is as good as ours, then you can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayLou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

this is a beautiful farm house and the perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet,it is
ideally situated so the cotswolds are in reach of all the beautiful villages in the surrounding area.
we have just come back after spending 7days in this beautiful farmhouse b.b the hosts paul and helen are delightful very friendly and have a lovely home and expect a hearty breckfast.
we hav e visited there home for the last two years and will be returning most definietly be returning in 2014.

Room Tip: they are lovely rooms they have a lovely twin room and double rooms all of the highest quality and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed an extra night simply because the place & owners were terrific. Breakfast was proper English, room extremely comfortable & furnished beautifully. Walking or racing, Home Farm cannot be beaten in or around Cheltenham.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittington
1.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 13 in Winchcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Farm

Property: Upper Hill Farm
Address: Upper Hill Farm Upper HILL | Upper Hill Farm, Whittington GL54 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Whittington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whittington
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold stone 18th century country farmhouse set in tranquil countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty near Cleeve Common and on the Cotswold Way overlooking Cheltenham. Retaining many original features with flagstone flooring, wooden beams and exposed stone walls. Comfortable en-suite rooms, delicious breakfast, amazing scenery with abundant wildlife, peace and harmony literally at your backdoor. Walkers are welcome and transport is available to local pub for evening meals. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing