We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearl Lagoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Lobster Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We recently spent five nights in cabana #1 which is the one closest to the restaurant so it gets a bit more restaurant sounds than #2 but it's not bad, or too late. Hanging in your hammock on the deck of your cabana can't be beat, fresh breeze, nice view.
We watched them (queen lobster staff) buying seafood from the local fishermen right at the dock in front of the cabana and then they prepare it for you, best seafood we've ever had. Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Our only glitch was that there were some bugs that snacked on us so bring some repellant.
Things are slower in Pearl Lagoon be patient, enjoy the view while waiting.

Room Tip: Cabana #2 the farthest away from the restaurant is a little quieter, but 1 is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent four nights in one of Pedro and Nuria's lovely little cabanas. Our local friends informed us we were staying in the nicest digs in town and it's hard not to believe them.

The bungalows are built right over the lagoon so there's a pleasant breeze which keeps it much cooler than most of the town and also helps keep mosquitos at bay. The view from the cabin windows (especially the outer cabin) is right out into the lagoon. The beds are comfortable and there's hot water and a strong fan. There's no A/C but we didn't need it between the breeze and the fan.

The bar & restaurant the cabanas adjoin is a destination in itself - great for people-watching and taking in the unique local culture of Pearl Lagoon. We didn't try the food ourselves but it's well-regarded and Jaz at the bar makes great smoothies, with and without rum. Coffee and coco bread are served free every morning.

If you visit, don't miss a chance to take a trip to the Pearl Keys with Pedro and Dane. They're truly a magical place - the kind of (mostly) undeveloped tropical islands you don't quite believe still exist.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jonah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Where to begin?
Miss Nuria! She & I emailed prior to my visit and I immediately knew this was the place to stay. She is a truly amazing woman who runs a great business while giving back to the community.
The bungalows themselves are beautifully crafted over the water. They are nicely appointed with hammocks on the balcony so one can enjoy the views and sounds of Pearl Lagoon.
The food at the restaurant was delicious! I really enjoyed the Garlic Shrimp dinner. The coconut bread toast at breakfast was yummy.
We did the tours to the Communities and the Pearl Cays. Both were wonderful experiences that included lunch. We ate at the Community run restaurant in Orinoco during our visit to Orinoco, La Fe, Table Point, and Kakahbila. While at the Cays, Dean, our guide, made Rondon over a fire on the beach. Two very memorable days!
Last, but absolutely NOT least- the staff! Jaz and Julio were extremely professional, helpful, and friendly. All of the staff were personable and kind. The service we received at Queen Lobster was unparalleled- far better than I've received at expensive resorts.
There is nothing that compares to The Queen Lobster Bungalows. Staying here is a MUST!

Room Tip: There are only two bungalows. The one farther out has a slightly better view, but they are both love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeEncantaTravel445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

In Pearl Lagoon i can feel the real culture of the people in the caribean coast of Nicaragua. It is a very authentic area and for me this experience is much better when i stay in Queen Lobster Bungalows. The hostel is a beautiful place, the view is amazing and the rooms are on the water, surrounded by a lot of nature.

Nuria is an excellent hostess and her staff are really friendly and good. In the Queen Lobster Restaurant, one can enjoy delicious seafood and also delicious traditional food.

If you are looking for something to do, The queen Lobster is also an excellent place to organize your tours to Cayos Perlas, Orinoco, Awas or simply have information on all tourist attractions on offer in this area.

Pearl Lagoon is the best of the Caribbean Coast and the stay is more comfortable in Queen Lobster.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Queen Lobster on a hunch, and we were so glad we did. Our lovely hosts, Nuria and Pedro were gracious, hospitable and down to earth. They have created a real oasis over the Pearl Lagoon and I highly recommend this as a prime top notch place to stay while in the area. Nothing we saw came close in terms of privacy and location. The food was also delicious and fresh, and our tastes and preferences were catered to with a smile. These bungalows are magical and romantic. We plan to return to Queen Lobster and Pearl Lagoon as soon as possible. Pedro is also very knowledgeable about the Pearl Cays and can take you out to one of these pristine uninhabited islands and cook you up and serve you Rondon or anything else your heart desires.

Room Tip: Queen Lobster has two lovely cottages on stilts over the Pearl Lagoon. They are clean, well-designe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maracujagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

nothing can even come close to this place. Not just because of the beautiful room and the view. But because of the team itself. Such wonderful characters that will stay with us forever. they support the local community and their door is always open to all sorts .... go there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjunan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are two bungalows on site. We stayed in the bungalow that is directly on the water. The bungalow had two full size beds with mosquito nets, 2 fans (there's no AC), a couch, and chairs, and a private bathroom with shower. The bathroom is small. The shower genrally has hot water (a luxury often times in Nicaragua) but there was an issue with hot water while we were there.

Overall the accommodations were simple but beautiful. The entire bungalow is made of bamboo.

The restaurant on site serves great seafood and the staff is very friendly.

We did a tour of the Pearl Keys with Dean (goes by Dane) and very much enjoyed seeing these beautiful islands. The lunch time seafood meal that Dean made was amazing.
I highly recommend Queen Lobster if you visit the Pearl Keys and want to stay in a unique hotel with friendly staff.

You can also find more info about Queen Lobster by going to the following sites:

http://vianica.com/hotels/372/bungalows-queen-lobster

http://www.queenlobster.com/

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Lobster Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Lobster Bungalows

Address: Del muelle municipal, 200 metros al Norte, Pearl Lagoon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Pearl Lagoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Pearl Lagoon
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing