We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Gorgeous, Delicious and Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Maderas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Surf Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Maderas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Surf Club is an amazing place to stay. The tree houses are awesome, each with a nice view and are very comfortable. The views are phenomenal but most importantly the owners and the atmosphere that they have created make this place truly special. The food was outstanding as well. I highly recommend to anyone going to visit Nicaragua. The Surf Club is a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Choose one of the treehouses.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarynM558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Buena Vista Surf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our entire trip to Nicaragua was fantastic and staying at BVSC was a highlight. I booked a treehouse and surf lessons as a surprise for my husband and it couldn't have turned out any better! The two young couples who host the hotel as well as the owners take every opportunity to make sure you have what you need and are enjoying your stay. They arranged our transfers from the ferry to the hotel as well as a lovely driver for a day. The food is wonderful and meeting up with the other guests at mealtimes makes for a very enjoyable visit. Very clean, beautiful modern design, attention to detail...they nailed it! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

... staying here right now. It's as good as I remember from last year and I'll be back for more. Easily deserves its number 1 Trip Advisor ranking and various recent global press mentions. No surprises that they have been busy this year but the exclusive number if guests means it is always intimate and always cool. A cut above.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayPeeWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After some initial scheduling issues, we were looking forward to ending our vacation at BVSC, hoping that our stay would live up to all the previous reviews. It did and we are so glad we stayed committed to visiting. Our two host couples, Ashley & Jose and Jet & Alex, were lovely and provided us with excellent meals all three days we were there. Both ladies led us in yoga sessions where the monkeys joined us and Jose provided a great surf lesson. The design leaves nothing to be desired and was a perfect place to end our trip.

Only tip: have change available when using Victor for a driver as he never has any :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihearttraveling029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booking at Buena Vista is the best you can do. It takes some time to get there, but it is worth the trip. Where SJDS itself is pretty crowded, this place + beach is the perfect place to relax, take some yoga lessons, read a book, meet some new people, enjoy good breakfasts and dinner and ride a big wave. The team of BVSC is interested, enthousiast, experienced and they cook great meals. Two tables full of guests and staff makes you feel like coming home. It is the perfect way to spend your holiday (or vacation).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tjarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gesellig is a word unique to the Dutch, difficult to translate into English (especially if you don't speak Dutch). It's a blend of cosy, friendly, relaxing and welcoming. Buena Vista Surf Club dishes it out in spades through its owners Marc & Marielle with the support of Jose, Ashley, Kathleen and Jordan. It is a truly special place, with amazing, home cooked meals, shared in an informal, social environment. Everyone is very chilled (gesellig) and a friendly atmosphere permeates. It is an imaginatively designed and beautifully constructed space surrounded by Nicaraguan jungle, 10 minutes from a great surf beach. Yoga on a deck, watching the waves roll in as the sun descends on the horizon, with a gentle cross wind to keep you cool is a difficult setting to create, BVSC gets it spot on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Buena Vista Surf Club is truly one of the most special and amazing places we have ever stayed anywhere in the world. It's simply beautiful, off the beaten path, and very relaxing. However, it's not a luxury resort (a plus in my book), which means it's not for everyone and therefore, it does attract a certain type of traveler. Marc & Marielle are terrific hosts, and the two couples who also worked there--Ashley & Jose, and Jordan & Kathleen--were loads of fun. We took surf lessons from Jordan, who is very patient and a great teacher. We were honestly surprised to find that the communal dining was one of the best parts of the stay. We met so many really great people from all over the world--all with similar interests. Dinners were never awkward and everyone seemed genuinely to enjoy each other's company. The treehouses are very comfortable, with views of the treetops leading down to the sea. There's electricity at night, a cold water shower, and excellent mosquito nets that really worked! Something you don't see everyday: the local howler monkeys using two of the trees right in front of us as a superhighway! We were very very happy that we had planned on spending 6 nights here--and we would have been very happy to stay another week or two. We sincerely hope to return to Buena Vista Surf Club some day soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maderas
1.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
5.2 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Surf Club

Address: Playa Maderas | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Maderas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Maderas
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Surf Club is an intimate design eco-lodge at Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur. A unique place for both surfers and non-surfers! Surf or learn how to surf or just enjoy the amazing beaches. Enjoy great home cooked, family style dinners with new friends, do yoga or relax at the 'infinity' sundeck and watch the wildlife from your ‘treehouse’! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Surf Club Hotel Playa Maderas
Buena Vista Surf Hotel
Hotel Buena Vista Surf
Buena Vista Surf Club Nicaragua/Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing