We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Vista Surf Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Maderas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Vista Surf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Maderas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is a little challenging to get to....I drove there with a rental car and as their website advises do not venture up the final hill to the hotel without a 4x4.

The owners are Marc and Marielle and they offer instant welcoming hospitality that only a small inn can provide. The lodge offers great views do the Pacfic. The rooms are nicely furnished. But the best part are the meals. Your breakfast and dinner are included and Marielle is an excellent cook. It adds to the enjoyment of the stay that everybody eats together.

The beach is wonderful....it is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Stay here...you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ugaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    15
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
189
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the BVSC for 2 weeks and we didn't want to leave. The view from the deck is amazing: we'll never forget it! Comfort, friendly atmosphere, great food (varied and satisfying). Marc and Marielle are allways ready to help and make you feel at ease. Ideal place for surfers close to the beach (5' walking). Marc organizes surf day-trips as well. Short distance from the village of San Juan del Sur (shuttle from Casa Ouro available). We really enjoyed: it's great fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itofini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Went to the Buena Vista for 2 nights in March with my girlfriend. The location of the hotel is ideal, a 5 mins walk from the Playa Maderas where you can surf or just enjoy the view.

The hosts are very welcoming and you very quickly feel at home once you arrive. The food was very good and rest assured that you'll never go hungry:)

Our casita was very nice and comfortable, but keep in mind that you are sleeping in a type of 'tree house' in the forest surrounded by all its inhabitants (birds, monkeys, etc). It's a great experience.

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebasv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I loved staying at Buena Vista Surf Club. Marc and Marielle were so friendly and nice and we loved everyone that worked their expecially Hustle and Flow. What made our stay there so great was the enironment. Between the people, ocean, amazing views, sounds from the jungle and the awesome tree house, we were able to unplug and actually relax. We also enjoyed eating with the other guests every night and loved every meal.

The five minute walk to the beach was also a big plus. After being home for a few weeks, there isn't a day that goes by that we don't talk about our trip to Nicarague and how awesome BVSC was. We'd go back in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Nothing but positive things to say about SJDS and Buena Vista. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It's a great place to meet other travellers because of the family meal format. The treehouses are amazing. Surfed everyday on the boards we rented through BV. MArc, Murielle, David and Lindsay are good humans. You should stay there and find out for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Marielle & Marc are great hosts and make you feel very comfortable. The place is beautiful and really incorporates the nature of Nicaragua. The food was excellent and we couldn't get enough of it. Overall a great experience with my girlfriends!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We just returned from Nicaragua and began our stay at The Buena Vista Surf Club. We were blown away by the beauty and charm this place had to offer. So tranquil and lovely. Marc and Marielle made us feel right at home. They (and their awesome dogs, Hustle and Flow) greeted us as soon as we arrived.

The hotel a short walk to Playa Mederas as well. After a day of sun, we loved being able to come back and unwind. We slept like babies! There is also a beautiful exposed deck in the main atrium that looks onto the waves of Maderas...you could sit for hours and watch the stars at night, and the sunset/waves in the morning. It's priceless.

Our days were filled with sand and surf, while our nights were filled with great conversation, beer, rum and lot's of laughs.

Marc, Marielle, David and Lindsay - You guys made our trip! Thanks again, guys. We hope to return sooner, rather than later! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliot f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maderas
1.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Surf Club

Property: Buena Vista Surf Club
Address: Playa Maderas | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Maderas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Maderas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Surf Club is an intimate design eco-lodge at Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur. A unique place for both surfers and non-surfers! Surf or learn how to surf or just enjoy the amazing beaches. Enjoy great home cooked, family style dinners with new friends, do yoga or relax at the 'infinity' sundeck and watch the wildlife from your ‘treehouse’! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Surf Club Hotel Playa Maderas
Buena Vista Surf Hotel
Hotel Buena Vista Surf
Buena Vista Surf Club Nicaragua/Playa Maderas, San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing