We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute spot. Friendly & great staff.. cooked us a great meal from fish we caught!”
Review of The Jungle Dream

The Jungle Dream
Price range: $4 - $11
Description: Delicious local food, reggae music, great location close to the beach, best prices
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious local food, reggae music, great location close to the beach, best prices
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Some friends of our fished with the owners of this place and they cooked us up a spectacular meal with the fish they caught for a very reasonable price. They were great guys, friendly and very attentive. Would definitely go back!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaurenM387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2017

The jungle dream is by far the best spot to eat right on the beach. Most of the spots on the sand have bad food and the people aren't friendly. Jungle Dream is the opposite. The food is great, especially the ceviche, and the staff is super nice. They speak some English too which is great for gringo travelers like myself. Passion fruit smoothies and daqueries are definitely good too.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

They made us good drinks and smoothies from fresh ingredients. Fresh made guacamole and their version of chips which are fried plantains (not the thin crispy ones) Just know that some things aren't available that are on the menu. Great service. I would have given a higher rating if there wasn't a disagreement on the price. They give the menu prices in USD. We ordered $5 guac and chips (which is pricey Nica), $5 2/1 happy hour passionfruit mojitos (excellent!), and 2 $2 smoothies for the kids. This is $14 USD. We only had $15 cash on us (they don't take credit). We gave them the $15 and they said it wasn't enough??? They converted to Córdoba and was asking for 460 cords and wanted another $1. $14 is 423 cords; $15 is 453 Cords. I'm not sure how they came up with wanting $16 and it made me feel bad that we were shorting them but we really weren't.

If posting in USD and taking USD then need to stick with those prices. I am only guessing they were using a cord conversion that was outdated.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank missyk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Nice staff and the food is Ok. The Jungle Dream has favorable prices, but the best was the music!
The music brings you in carribean atmosphere

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Jos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Made our first night in Playa Maderas perfect -- two for one passionfruit mojitos and a three hour conversation about Nica life. Couldn't recommend more! Ask for David (owner) and get ready for the best intro to Nicaragua

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Margaret v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jungle Dream also viewed

Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur

Been to The Jungle Dream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing