We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Mothers funeral reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kingscliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in the Kingscliff Hotel for two nights. They are refurbishing the hotel at the moment and we had one of the new refurbished rooms and it was lovely. Very spacious, clean & comfortable. My daughter had one of the non furbished rooms but it was also very comfortable and clean. The staff were excellent and catered for our every need. The reception was everything we wanted and the food was very good. As a few of the family were staying in the hotel we had a very good and comfortable evening in the lounge bar. Also they do an excellent full English breakfast which is cooked freshly to order. Yes we would definately stay there again if we wanted a few days in the area. The hotel is also situated on the sea front with lovely seaside views.

Room Tip: All the rooms our family had were very good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We have made many changes since buying the hotel, but we believed that we could bring this back to what everyone wanted. Refurbs will carry on into summer but once finished will be one of the most iconic building on the Essex Coast.
Please do come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for The Kingscliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 586 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nathan and I were extremely pleased with our whole day.
The staff were more than helpful, very professional and overall made our special day run smoothly without any problems.
The food for both the wedding breakfast and evening buffet were excellent, and all our guests were very impressed with the standard that was served to them.
The atmosphere created by the staff helped to make our day enjoyable, and all our guests also commented on that.
We would recommend to all family and friends to consider The Kingscliff Hotel for functions as we found the whole service faultless.
We would both like to Thank you all for making our day so special, and we hope that many more people choose The Kingscliff Hotel for their special occasions as we are confident that they would all be as satisfied.

Thankyou again,

Nathan & Paula Bigden.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for posting a super review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read that you wedding breakfast was a truly memorable event here at the hotel.I should pass all those great comments to the Kingscliff team.
Thank you very much for choosing the Kingscliff as your wedding venue and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

To put it frankly, we didn't stay for long; about 30 minutes to be precise.

On arrival, we noticed the scaffolding outside, which concerned us a bit but reassurance was given that the work was not happening at weekends.

The room was damp, wallpaper peeling, curtains torn, electric wires hanging from the ceiling, cracked toilet seat, broken lampshade, grotty bathroom and overall, VERY grubby. This was the 'Holland Suite'.

Was offered an alternative room that had already been refurbished, which looked ok but I wanted a bath (only a shower available) and a sea view (refurbished room was at back of hotel). It is our understanding that no sea view rooms have been refurbished yet but all rooms should be completed by June 2013.

On complaining, the receptionist did not seem surprised about our reasons for complaint but was VERY apologetic and didn't make us feel awkward at all for doing so. We are very disappointed however, that knowing the state of the older rooms, they are still being let out.

We received a full refund and left.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been refurbished yet
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments.
I was very disappointed to learn that the Holland suite was not up to your expectations.
I can assure you that in few months time when the Kingscliff Hotel refurbishment will come to an end the rooms will look as 4 star and the best on the Essex coast.
Please contact the GM when you are planing to visit us again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip, the hotel was very comfortable and clean, staff very friendly and helpful. I ate in the Hotel and I can honestly say it was the best meal I have had in a hotel for a long time, the Chef came out to discuss the menu and ask what I would like to eat, I ordered the Ham Terrine to start, followed by the Steak and Ale Pie, the meat was extremely tender and very tasty, I do not normally have desserts when eating out but I ordered the white Chocolate Cheesecake and it was delicious. The chef informed me that everything he served was homemade and that was obvious as all 3 courses were full of flavour and were obviously not bought in. The chef is only 19 but is extremely proud of what he cooks and serves, he is to be commended. Thank you for a good stay, I will certainly return to The Kingscliff Hotel if I need to work in the Clackton-on-Sea area again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

I am so happy you liked our newly refurbed hotel room , we have tried to think of all our customers need whist staying with us whether on business or leisure. If there is anything we have missed then please do let us know. We take your feedback seriously to make a better place for staff and guests to enjoy.
Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a long journey, the Kingsclff hotel was the perfect resting place for our 2 night stay near to Clacton for myself and family . The reception staff were efficient and friendly ,both our rooms were very clean and spacious and with sea views . The manager and cleaning staff made sure our short visit was a comfortable one and Reece makes a fantastic breakfast . Would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alrollason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for such great comments.
Now we just finalised the first 15 new rooms and we are looking forward to welcome you back to benefit from our one million pounds investment.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a superbreak deal which included first night dinner free and tickets to Colchester zoo, Warm friendly welcome but no first night dinner as they would of had to call a chef in specially to cook our meal which we felt was a lot of hassle and odd that no chef was present on an easter weekend bank holiday. Given the kingscliff suite which was very nice if a little dated, four poster bed with sunken bath.Bed very comfortable good nights sleep and excellent sea views. 1.5 mile from Clacton itself so a little out of the action. Breakfast was very good cooked freshly, could only have been improved if fresh toast had been provided instead of doing it ourselves with the toaster provided. Refurbishment seem to be ongoing so look forward to seeing the results when we visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dps78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, General Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.We will make sure the refurb is done on time and then we can start serving food every day,as at the moment we only serve Sunday Lunch.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Regards Marian
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Kingscliff for two nights, we were very lucky to be given one of the newly refurbished bedrooms - beautiful with a comfortable bed ensuring a good nights sleep.
Was disappointed that there was no bar menu as advertised on web site we were directed to the local Italian restaurant!
Breakfast was excellent hot and freshly cooked, why oh why though is tea served from a thermos flask and not a pot on the table. Also had to ask for marmalade and milk.
Attended a wedding at Kingscliff, ceremony room was well laid out and 'wedding breakfast' superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maw an C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C, Manager at The Kingscliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is most important to us. I am glad you liked the refurb which does bring an iconic building back to life. We are happy that our customers feel we have done the right thing.
We are looking forward to your return.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
1.5 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#5 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingscliff Hotel

Address: 55 Kings Parade | Clacton-on-sea, Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 5JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > Holland-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Price Range: $62 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingscliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Kingscliff Hotel, we believe that a proper night's sleep is the most important part of anyone's stay. All 30 guest rooms are appointed for your enjoyment and comfort. All rooms are traditionally furnished to compliment the character of the hotel. Some of the rooms have front line views over the promenade and sea. The Kingscliff Suite is popular for honeymooners with a four poster bed. There is a large family room which can cater for a family of four.Business travellers can expect WiFi within the hotel. There is a fax machines and photocopier available on reception. Also secretarial services are available subject to prior arrangement. Each bedroom features a LCD flat screen television with freeview channels and trouser press. Room service is available up to 9.00 pm hours. Reception will attempt to cater for your individual requirements wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kingscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing