We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abercelyn Country House, Bala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First visit to North Wales for 40 years.
Lindsat & Ray provided wonderfull accommodation, excellent food and a very friendly atmosphere. What more could you ask for.
The location, next to Bala lake and the village, makes it very accessable.

Val & Graham Priest

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night at Abercelyn but the welcome from Lindsay & Ray was very warm and we were delighted with the room. Tea and scones on arrival was very welcome after a long drive from West Sussex. It was an easy walk into Bala for dinner and the location is ideal.

Breakfast the next morning was tremendous with a great choice and really good home baked bread; it would be hard to find better.

Overall an excellent place to stay; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RackhamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Abercelyn Country House due to its location,price and reviews.Our instincts were totally correct. Ray and Lindsay are excellent hosts.We were met with a cup of tea and a piece of delicious home made cake . Our room was spotless and there was a wide choice for breakfast including fresh fruit and porridge with raisins which was wonderful. Definitely one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose to stay at Abercelyn due to reviews and their excellent informative website after looking for a base in the Bala area. What a find!!!. We had the Berwyn room which was very light, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The ensuite is particularly good being spacious and having a superb shower/bath.The attention to detail and all the little extras was very impressive. The breakfast was superb wonderfully fresh with excellent produce and fuelled us for the day. Ray and Lindsay could not be more welcoming making us feel more like friends than guests, with helpful ideas and information on things to do. I would recommend a stay here for anyone wishing to explore the area and will definitely look to return.

Room Tip: I would choose the Berwyn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and warm welcome from Ray and Lindsay. Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed that had really good quality linen/pillows and a great shower.
The breakfast was fantastic, plentiful and delicious. It would be a mistake to say "no" to the homemade bread! They even offered to serve brekkie super early on the sunday so my husband could eat before racing his Triathlon.
We would definitely stay here again, probably for the triathlon next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A wonderful place, we would thoroughly recommend it. Wonderful breakfast, very warm welcome. Our room was on the road side, but was really quiet. Lindsay was an excellent host, always there if needed, and made us feel like friends, not guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 480James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

other reviews have summed up the Abercelyn, we would definately return next time we visit the Bala area, well done, congratulations to Lindsay and Ray for an excellent relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent, very tasty and freshly prepared. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed very comfy. Room facilities where all we needed. Hosts very welcoming but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanycil
4.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 25 in Bala
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing