We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
160
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering fantastic stay tithe barn hosts bala relaxation base
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night at Abercelyn but the welcome from Lindsay & Ray was very warm and we were delighted with the room. Tea and scones on arrival was very welcome after a long drive from West Sussex. It was an easy walk into Bala for dinner and the location is ideal.

Breakfast the next morning was tremendous with a great choice and really good home baked bread; it would be hard to find better.

Overall an excellent place to stay; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 834rayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Abercelyn Country House due to its location,price and reviews.Our instincts were totally correct. Ray and Lindsay are excellent hosts.We were met with a cup of tea and a piece of delicious home made cake . Our room was spotless and there was a wide choice for breakfast including fresh fruit and porridge with raisins which was wonderful. Definitely one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose to stay at Abercelyn due to reviews and their excellent informative website after looking for a base in the Bala area. What a find!!!. We had the Berwyn room which was very light, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The ensuite is particularly good being spacious and having a superb shower/bath.The attention to detail and all the little extras was very impressive. The breakfast was superb wonderfully fresh with excellent produce and fuelled us for the day. Ray and Lindsay could not be more welcoming making us feel more like friends than guests, with helpful ideas and information on things to do. I would recommend a stay here for anyone wishing to explore the area and will definitely look to return.

Room Tip: I would choose the Berwyn room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and warm welcome from Ray and Lindsay. Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed that had really good quality linen/pillows and a great shower.
The breakfast was fantastic, plentiful and delicious. It would be a mistake to say "no" to the homemade bread! They even offered to serve brekkie super early on the sunday so my husband could eat before racing his Triathlon.
We would definitely stay here again, probably for the triathlon next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A wonderful place, we would thoroughly recommend it. Wonderful breakfast, very warm welcome. Our room was on the road side, but was really quiet. Lindsay was an excellent host, always there if needed, and made us feel like friends, not guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 480James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews