We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We decided to visit Bala again, at very short notice, but unfortunately where to stay was the problem. Internet search. Abercelyn. We were welcomed very well indeed with cakes and a cup of tea. Right from the start to the end of our one night stay we were looked so well. The Aran room was very comfortable and overlooks the other side of Llyn Tegid ( Bala Lake ) which had a lot of snow on it, as did the surrounding countryside. Ray cooked a fabulous breakfast. Did we receive value for money? Yes. Could we recommend this place to others? Absolutely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDJ96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
101
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in an ideal location, perfect for exploring this most beautiful part of Wales. The breakfast was the best we have had, cooked to perfection by Lindsay using locally sourced produce and free range eggs from their own hens. The room was very comfortable with an electric blanket which was most welcome as the weather was below freezing. This is an area we had not previously visited but Ray has put together very comprehensive information so whether you want a gentle picturesque walk or something a little more challenging you will find something suitable in Rays file in the lounge. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Aran room is lovely with a beautiful bathroom and views toward lake Bala.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pitched up in Bala after dark in the snow expecting to camp but decided against it and hunted for a B&B. This was recommended by another B&B that we phoned. Room was excellent - clean, tidy, well furnished and well equiped. Bed was heavenly after a long drive. Hosts very welcoming. Breakfast was great - plenty of it (we were going white water rafting so needed the calories!), very well prepared and very high quality. Then we were off home so only a single night. If I am ever back in the area I'd go there again and would recommend it to anyone who needs a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my partner enjoyed a relaxing and peaceful weekend here. Ray and his wife added a personal touch to the service, with home-grown food offered for breakfast.

The room was clean and tidy and overlooked the lake.

There was the opportunity to sit in the drawing room, with a lit fire.

A delightful hotel, with a personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The B&B is excellent, but we opted for the self-catering, sympathetically converted tythe barn in the grounds. Fabulous space with slate floors & all mod cons. overlooking Lake Bala. Welcoming pint of milk & delicious home-made cake was a very welcome touch. Beds very comfortable with high spec. en-suites - beware, very hot water! - good fault! We went for the walking & Ray was a very generous host, loaning maps & walk guides - having a drying room available is ideal,although only necessary on one day of our stay! The cottage's proximity to the lake means that it is close to the road, but we found that it didn't detract frm a really relaxing break in a wonderful location. (Bala has individual shops, including 'the best butcher in Wales' - really friendly & excellent service & quality.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A gorgeous old house in beautiful gardens, we had a very large room with everything we could need, even fresh milk everyday for a cuppa.
Lindsay and Ray were very friendly and helpful, there was also a vast range of books, DVD's, maps and leaflets in the drawing room for every activity imaginable.
Breakfast was superb with a wide choice and extremely yummy!
Perfect place for us too celebrate our anniversary but next time we will be trying out one of the self catering cottages available so we can bring the children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Abercelyn Country House is in a lovely location just outside Bala (10 minute walk). Our room was very spacious and comfortable and tastefully appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and the bed linen was top quality.
Great breakfasts with loads of choice. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and their two cats, Marmite and Bella, were a delight!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanycil
1.0 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
87 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#2 of 27 in Bala
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Property: Abercelyn Country House
Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Abercelyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Abercelyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing