We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucolic Wonderland”
Review of Finca Ogawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Ogawa
Certificate of Excellence
La Grande, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bucolic Wonderland”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent a few days at the Finca relaxing at the end of an extended South America trip. So nice to sit out by the pool, enjoying the amazing view of the snow-capped Andes, watching the sun set in a myriad of pinks and golds. The pulperia is one of the coolest/quirkiest little bars I've ever been too, and Jon is an amazing host/bartender. Pretty much loved everything about the place... I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. We loved the grape arbor to sit under for sipping coffee in the morning and eating the fresh egges, rasberries and tomatoes from the hens and garden. It was fun watching the tractors working the vineyards that were ripe with Malbec grapes. For lunch we picked fresh peaches, lettuse, baisal, more tomatoes and corn. Aside from food cooked in the well equiped kitchen the area was terrific to explore with wineries everywhere, the Andeas in view at all times providing hiking opportunities. The Finca even had bikes for riding. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Finca Ogawa is a lovely oasis in the Valle de Uco. The guest houses are comfortable and have well stocked kitchens. We traveled with another couple and were very comfortable in Casa de Barbara. We arrived after a long car drive and found the kitchen stocked with a little coffee, milk, cereal and fresh raspberries - very much appreciated. John and Barbara are very welcoming and gave us pointers on the best wineries to see in our short visit. The Pulperia is a little wine bar on site and is a great spot to try a local wine and hear some great stories from John. Just a warning that you must have your headlights on at all times of day... had a brush with the local police about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Finca Ogawa for 2 nights and had an amazing stay. Barbra, our host, was the sweetest and took great care of us. We had not booked a car since we were on another trip close by previously and our guide had left us directly at Finca Ogawa. Barbra and John did everything they could to get us a rental car but when that proved impossible (it was peak season), they arranged for the pool maintenance staff to be our private driver. It was great too, because it's not easy to find the smaller wineries. No google maps!

The Casa Martha of Finca Ogawa was clean, spacious and had A/C. We could take anything from the garden, we had access to fresh eggs from the coop, raspberries from their fields. The highlight is that Barbra sent us to shop at ''Hector's'', the local grocery store 2 doors down. Hector is the friendliest guy you'll ever meet. The shop is an extension of his house and his whole family tends to it. It's a small local shop, so don't expect anything fancy, but his meat and local produce were amazing and at ridiculous prices. He even invited us for lunch the second day (turns out that the driver/pool guy was his nephew). It's small experiences like this that can really make a trip memorable.

That said, even if you don't get to meet Hector, Finca Ogawa is close to the main wineries, it has a pool, Casa Martha is clean and well appointed, there's pool towels and cooking neccessities. And of course, there is a BBQ!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementinebleue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A great place for a quiet few days in the Valle de Uco, within an easy drive of lots of wineries. We had the whole place to ourselves, amazing views of the mountains when the clouds lifted, and a very hospital owner.
We will be back; and the complementary bottle of vino was very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We all loved Finca Ogawa. Barbara and John were wonderful hosts, and had lots of great local knowledge to share. The garden was a delight, we had the whole family picking apples, herbs, tomatoes, quince and raspberries. The casita is lovely and well equipped for cooking or barbecuing and the Finca has wonderful red wines and olive oil too. The kids really enjoyed finding fresh eggs to eat in the chicken coop, and the view of the Andes from the garden table is spectacular, nice bikes to tool around too.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Mimi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here late February-early March 2012, during harvest season. We picked fresh fruit and vegetables from the trees, vines, and Barbara's garden for meals supplemented by ingredients from Hector's store just down the road. And the Finca's superb wine, of course.
We had the opportunity to stay in both casitas and both were very clean, spacious, well equipped, and quiet. John and Barbara made us feel at home and helped us with our travels in Mendoza. We give this a definite two-thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Sauces
2.2 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
16.2 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
11.7 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
186 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
10.0 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Finca La Azul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Ogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ogawa

Property: Finca Ogawa
Address: Calle Bascunan s/n | Tunuyan, Valle de Uco, Los Sauces M5663ABA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Los Sauces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Los Sauces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Ogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the accommodations that we offer were originally constructed some 80 years ago for the owners of the finca. Our home is a Spanish style house with thick walls, high ceiling and traditional wooden windows. We have lovingly restored and recycled it into a charming little home or casita: CASA DE MARTHA is a 40 m2 one bedroom home / casita. This bedroom has a king size bed and a private bathroom. There is also a living room, dining room, full kitchen to cook and a 280 sq. feet veranda with outdoor parrilla. The house has Central Air Conditioning and heat, Internet WiFi and Direct TV, Sheets and towels. There are also other new Villas in the Finca, for 4 and 6 people! Please write to us with your inquire!! The advantage to choosing Finca Ogawa for your stay is that all lodgings include complete country gourmet kitchens, queen and king sommiers, private bathrooms, wonderful living and fireplaces, comfortable dining areas, private patios, access to the finca community, 40 m2 swimming pools, housekeeping services, mountain bikes, vegetable garden, and perfect Andes's views. Only minutes away from the best of the best wineries in Valle de Uco. Finca Ogawa is about 1,30 hs from the airport. 1 Hour from Mendoza City. Location Coordinates: 33° 35' 02.0"S 69° 09' 02.0"W. We are close to the most famous wineries like Clos de Los Siete (Monteviejo, Rolland, DiamAndes, Cuvellier Los Andes), Gimenez Riili, Salentein, Andeluna, Domaine Bousquet, Sophenia, The Vine of Mendoza, Piedra Negra, and more! This area offers a lot of options in adventure activities like Horseback ridings in the mountains, Bike tours around the wineries, Rafting, Trekkings and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Finca Ogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing