We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful land, beautiful people, beautiful lodging”
Review of Finca Ogawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca Ogawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place is far from the hustle and bustle of the big cities, but it certainly is in the heart of wine country. If you want to really experience the Argentinian wine country, you can't really do any better than Finca Ogawa.

First, the hosts, John and Marta, know pretty much everyone in the area and can help you to arrange meetings, tastings or other activities. That service was far more valuable than we could have imagined, as having nice websites and answering emails isn't really the strong suit of most Argentinian wine producers. John and Marta were prompt with emails and made sure to help us set up some fantastic tastings. They helped us figure out our way around the area and were all in all a pleasure to be around. Luckily for us, Barbara was also in town for our visit. She was a lovely host, kept us stocked on breakfast supplies and made us feel as welcome as can be.

Next, the accommodations. We stayed in Casa de Barbara (me, my wife, and my parents). There was plenty of room, a lovely bathroom and a full sized kitchen. Being there for a whole week, we cooked most of our dinners. To help us with that, the Finca has a garden that they let their guests use! It is beautiful, with tomatoes, onions, hot peppers, zucchini and more.

Anything you can't find in the garden, you can probably find in Hector's country store, less than a mile away on the gravel road.

The atmosphere out in the country is quiet and tranquil. It really is out there, so make sure you get GPS coordinates from John before you drive in, and do your best to make sure it is daytime when you first arrive.

We had a wonderful time in Argentina in no small part because of John, Marta and Barbara. We will most certainly return.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, go with the smaller Casa de Marta. If there are 3 or 4, go with Casa de Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btshapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

After several frenetic days in Buenos Aires staying at Finca Ogawa was a soul refreshing experience. The original farm house now converted into a guest house was delightful.It included a full kitchen and dining room, a first class bathroom,roomy bedroom and comfy living room. The grapevine covered veranda was perfect for sipping a good glass of Finca Ogawa reserve (compliments of the house). John and Martha were terrific hosts....providing tours to various wineries in the Tunyuan area, bicyles for your own road trips; food from their wonderful vegetable garden and a real Argentinian asado ( if you want).It is not easy to get to but John is more than willing to do what it takes to get you to the farm.Once there you will be glad for this opportunity to experience life in this incredibly beautiful landscape sitting at the foot of the Andes under the milky way like you've never seen before. A great place to enjoy great wines ,relax and be happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

we were travelling with our bicycles and found a cosy, relaxing, clean finca. The rooms are all very spacious, the kitchen is equiped with everything we needed and the bathroom with its extra large shower was a dream for us biker.
we also appreciated the nearby shop, where we could buy almost everything we needed for our stay. (we did not have a car, only bicycles)

Room Tip: sitting under the pergola is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hofmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

John and Marta, who run Finca Ogawa, are the quintessential hosts of this lovely, small retreat, which is conveniently located in the midst of some of the most beautiful and best-producing wineries in the Mendoza-area wine country of western Argentina. Within a half hour of Finca Ogawa are superb modern restaurants, wineries (often with space-age design) featuring great Malbecs and other local varietals, and many scenic vistas. In addition, Finca Ogawa often offers fresh eggs from their own chicken coop and fresh vegetables and herbs from their garden plot. A great place to relax, enjoy the sights of the nearby Andes, and to take in the offerings of this increasingly well-regarded wine-growing locale.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatleman099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We spent one week at Finca Ogawa in a big house with a really well equipped kitchen. If you love to cook it's a great place to spend time at and just enjoy life in a calm way. You won't find a restaurant street nearby, but just hang around under the grapes outside is great. We got access to their herb garden where they have a lot of herbs and vegetables. If you want to go to Tunyan it won't cost you a lot to order a taxi (around 50 pesos).

We got picked up from the busstation in Tunuyan and after some shopping we went to the place. It's is not a hotel, you rent a house (atleast for us) and then you take care of yourself (we didn't see the "owners" after they left us there), which suited us perfectly.

There is a family living at the finca who are really nice.

If you are a family or two couples the value is GREAT, but if you are just two people you pay quite a lot, but still you have a really good kitchen to cook in yourself.

Finca Ogawa is a great base from where you can go on wine tours, tours to the Andes among other things. The "owner" was a great help for us to put us in contact with a great girl that arranged everything for us.

We had a really nice week at Finca Ogawa and if you are looking for some privacy and don't want to have service the whole time this place is great.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were looking for an adventure around Mendoza and found Finca Ogawa to be an excellent way to discover the joys of the wine region. We found the farm and its environment to be very warm, quiet, relaxing, back-to-nature, get your hands dirty, earthy and many more superlatives. We cant say enough good things about the owners, John and Martha, and their hospitality and generosity (especially with the Finca wines). The on-site Finca foreman, Tito, and his family were very helpful as well. We worked about 2 hours per day in the Raspberry patch and the flower/vegetable garden early in the morning to avoid the hotter parts of the day.
The two bedroom Casa Barbara, where we stayed, is very rustic but comfortable with generous sized bedrooms/bathroom/living room and a great fully equipped kitchen where we prepared many a meals. We particularly enjoyed the covered patio outside our cottage where many an afternoon and evening were spent enjoying the breeze, reading books and consuming the bottles of wines from the bodegas we visited every day. The fresh fruits, vegetables and eggs that we gathered every day from the Finca were a delight to prepare and eat. We also did an Asado one evening with all the families on the parilla behind the cottage with the help of Tito's wife and John doing the grilling, and keeping everything flowing smoothly with the Finca Ogawa Malbec.
We would highly recommend renting a car while at the Finca as it is about 80km from Mendoza, and you need it to get to the bodegas in the region. There are some very good wineries within a 30km radius, but one needs to call ahead to make reservations for tastings. The car also comes in handy to go in to the nearby towns and restaurants. We would highly recommend the restaurant at the Uco Valley lodge about 4 km from the Finca. The chef/owner loves to prepare requested dishes if you give him a day notice, and you can bring your own wine purchases to accompany the meals. There is a small grocery store in the little pueblito about half a km down the dirt road where you can get most of the groceries we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaqsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Quite an isolated location but the directions we were given were spot on. A very remote location but there was everything in the house that we needed including WiFi. Lots of basic provisions were provided so it was easy to put a meal together. The owner, John, didn't live nearby but he came to meet us and gave us lots of information to make the most of our trip. It was a great base to explore some of the wineries. We got into the habit of lunching like kings at the wineries and then eating simply at the house in the evening. You definitely need a car and a good map.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowbackhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Sauces
2.2 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Vista Flores
358 reviews
11.7 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#1 of 1 in Los Arboles
285 reviews
16.2 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tupungato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
0.6 mi away
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - ...
#1 of 1 in Colonia Las Rosas
100 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tupungato Divino
Tupungato Divino
#1 of 11 in Tupungato
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Ogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ogawa

Address: Calle Bascunan s/n | Tunuyan, Valle de Uco, Los Sauces M5663ABA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tunuyan Department > Los Sauces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Los Sauces
Price Range: $124 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Ogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the accommodations that we offer were originally constructed some 80 years ago for the owners of the finca. Our home is a Spanish style house with thick walls, high ceiling and traditional wooden windows. We have lovingly restored and recycled it into a charming little home or casita: CASA DE MARTHA is a 40 m2 one bedroom home / casita. This bedroom has a king size bed and a private bathroom. There is also a living room, dining room, full kitchen to cook and a 280 sq. feet veranda with outdoor parrilla. The house has Central Air Conditioning and heat, Internet WiFi and Direct TV, Sheets and towels. There are also other new Villas in the Finca, for 4 and 6 people! Please write to us with your inquire!! The advantage to choosing Finca Ogawa for your stay is that all lodgings include complete country gourmet kitchens, queen and king sommiers, private bathrooms, wonderful living and fireplaces, comfortable dining areas, private patios, access to the finca community, 40 m2 swimming pools, housekeeping services, mountain bikes, vegetable garden, and perfect Andes's views. Only minutes away from the best of the best wineries in Valle de Uco. Finca Ogawa is about 1,30 hs from the airport. 1 Hour from Mendoza City. Location Coordinates: 33° 35' 02.0"S 69° 09' 02.0"W. We are close to the most famous wineries like Clos de Los Siete (Monteviejo, Rolland, DiamAndes, Cuvellier Los Andes), Gimenez Riili, Salentein, Andeluna, Domaine Bousquet, Sophenia, The Vine of Mendoza, Piedra Negra, and more! This area offers a lot of options in adventure activities like Horseback ridings in the mountains, Bike tours around the wineries, Rafting, Trekkings and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Finca Ogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing