We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Railway Inn

Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

i have eaten at a lot of restaurants. the railway inn has to be in my top 2 unbelievable food price and portion size, won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osgerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    60
    11
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great value food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We ate in here one evening when we stayed in a holiday cottage locally and called in for a drink another evening.
The bar was very busy both evenings and people were waiting for tables for food from shortly after food started to be served at 6:00. You can reserve tables in the restaurant but not in the bar area so I would recommend that you either book for restaurant or arrive early for the bar. There are tables outside which are lovely if it is warm as they are sunny in the evening.
The food was tasty and good quality and as noted by other reviewers portions are very generous - so we didn't get to try the pudding menu!
They have a specials board with a reasonable range of main courses for £5 which is excellent value and most other mains were about £8-9.
My only real criticism was that bar service was slow as there was one person trying to take all the food and drink orders and so ordering a pint took a while if there were a couple of people placing food orders.
However, food was served promptly and staff were friendly and helpful.
There were three beers on hand pull as well as a range of bottled and other beers/lagers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Enjoyed a great steak (maybe a tad overcooked for me but still within the range - be confident...if you like it rare ask for it rare and so on), chips were great and plentiful, onion rings, mushrooms all good. We sat in the bar, the restaurant was very busy, maybe another waiter would have eased the load a bit for the staff who were clearly trying their best.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quirky experience, but very enjoyable food and evenings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family and I stayed in a holiday cottage within walking distance of the Inn and ate here 3 times within the last week.

We were advised to book a table in advance which is essential if you want to get a table in the restaurant as there are only 5 tables. ( there are bar tables and outside seating but these are often full too).

Our first quirky encounter was being told that they will only allow one table booking at any one time (ie one at 6.30 and one at 7.00pm to manage the flow of orders). This was strange as there were possibly another 10 tables ordering food at those times in the bar and outside). In the end we booked a table and settled for a time to be told ' it doesn't matter what time you turn up, early or late!!'

Each evening when we arrived, there was a cue of people, snaking out of the front door, trying to order food and drink from the one barman, and to register that they were here to be let though to the restaurant.

The menu was very full with great choices for the vegetarians among us. My husband chose the jumbo cod one evening and to be honest, it would have fed a family of four on it's own - it was huge.

The staff were very helpful, and friendly. You will though have to go with a mind that the whole evening will be 'an experience and strangely quirky' rather than a conventional evening out. ( as an example, we asked for a jug of water to be told that by the stressed and confused waiter that he would do it in an hour - he came back with it 2 mins later)

Overall, very good food, friendly staff but strange systems and ways of doing things which probably will never change. Definitely worth a meal there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RomseyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fine filling lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

After riding the Talyllyn Railway we got off at Nant Gwernol and walked down the beautiful valley towards Abergynolwyn. We stopped for lunch at the Railway Inn, all 11 of us and it was superb value for money. Each of the meals from the special board was only £5. A large plate of food; lasagne with new potatoes and vegetables, rogan josh, burgers, breaded plaice and all came with chunky chips, scrumptious! We left very satisfied and then realised we had to walk back (up hill) to Nant Gwernol station platform; we made it in good time for the 2.30 pm train and had walked off the chips!

Helpful?
Thank SJLinPSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Inn also viewed

Abergynolwyn, Snowdonia National Park
 
Pennal, Snowdonia National Park
 
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing