We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a very special night at Ynyshir Hall, a small country hotel nestling in the mountains of Powys on the edge of the Dyfi Estuary which is one of the finest natural habitats for birds in the country. We were not prepared for how wonderful this hotel is - we knew the food was superb because it had been recommended prior to our visit but WOW, what a superb location and I have never visited a hotel with more friendly staff. We enjoyed the 10 course tasting menu prepared by the Michelin Star awarded chef which was definitely the best I have had for a long, long time (I nearly licked the plates clean it was so good) and the accompanying recommended wines were sublime. You really feel you are visiting old friends when you stay at this lovely place and I really can't wait to go again! Special thanks to Joan, the manager who is such a lovely lady and also sweet little Barbara who I can honestly say NEVER stops smiling - the happiest waitress I have ever met We spent the morning visiting Portmeirion which is about 45 minutes away and is well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Venetia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 265 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to stay at Ynyshir Hall and we had an excellent stay. The owner Jean was one of the friendliest people I have ever met and the staff could not do enough for us. The location is Ideal- Close to a beautiful wildlife reserve and not far from lovely sand dunes (which the owner drove us to and picked us up from due to us not having a car!) which lead to the lovely seaside town of Borth. The actual grounds of the hotel are splendid and we had a lovely afternoon relaxing on the grass reading the sunday papers.

The hotel itself is the perfect combination of impressive yet welcoming. I really liked the decor including the collectables and lovely paintings on the wall. We stayed in the Goya room and had one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time.

Now to the food. What can I say but it was truly out of this world. It was perfect and am not surprised it has a Michelin star.

I felt urged to write this review as I regularly read Trip Advisors review but never write them but after seeing some negative comments on here I felt urged to write. I couldn't fault the hotel, the staff or the service and my girlfriend and I are planning to return for our anniversary. Overall we had such an unforgettable weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ynyshir Hall to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkelly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

If you want a hotel in the middle of nowhere, this is it! the nearest town is 13 miles away and there is very little else to do. However, as we wanted to do nothing except relax and eat, it was perfect!
The hotel is old and characterful and the service is very friendly. The grounds are beautiful and lovely to walk around in good weather.
Our bedroom was very big and well furnished, very comfortable bed, and a big decanter of sherry, large TV and Ipod dock. However, the bathroom needed attention. Considering the room prices, I would not expect peeling wallpaper, poor shower, and lack of separate bubble bath. However, it was very clean and had lovely fluffy towels and bathrobes. I think the hotel is due a big refurb shortly, so hopefully this small aspect will be sorted out soon.
I would strongly recommend the taster menu, accompanied by the wine tasting menu. We had both twice and is worth the money and experience.
We were told the hotel was to be extended and have beauty facilities added.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Just returned from sublime weekend at Ynyshir Hall. Everything perfect and superbly hosted by Joan who made us extremely welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Felt like we were her house guests
Stayed in Degas, one of the smaller suites but beautifully decorated and very comfortable with small sitting room. Our friends stayed in Vermeer and Renoir both lovely large rooms with sitting areas, colour co-ordinated and spacious bathrooms on two levels
Dinner on both nights excellent with greta choice of good, interesting wines
An added bonus is he RSPB reserve two seconds away and accessed through the hotel grounds
A wonderful May Bank Holiday weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WebsterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights and paid £1,100 for bed, breakfast and dinner. The staff is very attentive, professional and the restaurant food is truly amazing. The most dissapointing part was the accomodation. The hotel has not had a refurbishment probably for the last 20 years and is in severe need of upgrading. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. My recommendation would be to stay one night at most or in a different hotel and book a dinner at the hall.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in august 09 - for a get away treat at the last minute. Our overall view was that the building and particularly the grounds were generally run down and in need of some TLC. There were very few staff around to assist and there were only 2 other couples apart from us eating in the restauarant, which lacked any kind of atmosphere. There was no one around at the end of our meal to offer coffee, drinks etc - the service and surroundings just does not live up to the cost of staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetraveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

This hotel is a real gem. We had an amazing experience here and were treated like King and Queen. Rooms are tastefully decorated and exquisite. Everything is extremely clean and well maintained and service is exceptional. All the staff are courteous, friendly, helpful and basically will go out of their way for you. Nothing is too much trouble. Food is so out of this world by Head Chef Shane Hughes. Overall it was a magnificent experience and we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglwys Fach
3.8 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
660 reviews
14.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
17.7 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
10.7 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms

Address: Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Eglwys Fach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Price Range: $270 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ynyshir is a five star restaurant with rooms near the Snowdonia National Park, Aberystwyth and Machynlleth. The Michelin Star restaurant at Ynyshir is one of Wales' best contemporary fine dining destinations and holds four AA rosettes - one of only two restaurants in Wales to hold this distinction. Michelin Star chef Gareth Ward serves alternative British tasting menus using the very best of Welsh and British produce. The menus showcase the best of Welsh ingredients following the seasons, such as Welsh Wagyu Beef and Anglesey Onions throughout the year, as well as locally foraged sea herbs from the estuary and greens from the woodland floor and Ynyshir's extensive gardens. During hunting season expect to see wild deer and local duck, grouse and partridge, and in summer Welsh Lamb from the Dyfi valley. Gareth and his team pickle, salt, ferment and preserve fruits, leaves and berries carrying the harvests through the winter and into the spring. Expect to see dishes such as 'Not French Onion Soup', 'Mackerel Sweet & Sour' and Gareths take on a Tiramisu all served alongside a carefully selected wine-list whilst overlooking the Cambrian mountains and Ynyshir's extensive gardens Ynyshir has a total of ten luxuriously furnished guest rooms, each with its own unique style and character. There are seven rooms within the main house and three deluxe rooms directly adjacent. Each guest room has an en-suite with a separate bath and shower and feature premium Temple Spa products. Most rooms offer views over the gardens and Cambrian Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Eglwys Fach
Ynyshir Hall Machynlleth
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Machynlleth
Hall Ynyshir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing