We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”
Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Marloes
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pub
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to visit the Lobster Pot in Marloes village as it was the nearest pub / restaurant to where we were staying on holiday. We have been to this pub before (family group) as we are regular visitors to this part of Pembrokeshire. Although the pub was very busy, and we arrived later than planned, (a group of 8), the bar staff were very helpful and warned us we would probably have to wait a while, which was fine as this gave us the chance to see if our skills at the pool table had improved since last time- (sadly they hadn't). At the predicted time our table was ready and by now we were quite hungry. I was very impressed with my main course which was steak and ale pie with chips, vegetables, and gravy. Happily the portion size was commensurate with my appetite, and the meal was of high quality. It hit the spot nicely, and with it I enjoyed a pint of Double Dragon (beer) which enhanced the experience. Furthermore my son does not like mushrooms so I was able to help him out here while he demolished his sirloin steak (cooked to order) with chips and salad.
I would definitely go there again- nice pub, good food, and pleasant, friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    55
    21
    26
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Surprized how nice it was after reading other reviews”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Fast service, lovely food, and nice beer. We were Surprized after seeing the other reviews but in general a good place to eat .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahTomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“afternoon visit”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

hadn't been to Lobster Pot for a few years and my oh my how its changed ....its decor is relaxing and i enjoyed an afternoon coffee and will defo be going back for a meal......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jannie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marloes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to try the mixed grill”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The lobster pot gets lots of compliments from our guests on the campsite and in the guesthouse, the local beer is very popular and the food very reasonably priced for the area. The landlord and landlady do a great job, and my husband raves about the mixed grill. They have done a lot of work on the outside garden and is a nice place to sit and enjoy the peace that Marloes offers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarloesFoxdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beer and food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Interesting place , food was pretty good althoug hrestaurant was a little dark,. We ate in the bar. Shame about the beer, would have expected SA and some other Welsh ales but they had Courage and Felinfoel which i really don't like at all. Overall a good visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Welshboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Dale, Pembrokeshire
Marloes, Pembrokeshire
 
Marloes, Pembrokeshire
St Ishmaels, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing