We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal at this hotel”
Review of Severn Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Severn Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Penybont B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped by for a third time in four years on our way to the intriguing nearby Manor at Abbey Cwm Hir for lunch. Today's offerings included cod and chips and the batter was best by far that I have ever had. Good quality fish too. The staff were friendly and very efficient. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Lunch only
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Reckittmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Severn Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and warm with a huge en suite. A very good choice of food. The staff were very attentive on a very busy night. We would have no problems staying again. Cooked breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

9 pm arrival 45 pounds / room poor quality /damp /musty/unventilated /old tv /1930/40 shower! always inspect room before thinking of staying /ceiling partly falling into bathroom.could be improved by spending alot of money on upgrading efc gr pity that money may not be avail for this sort of trad hotel

Room Tip: do not stay!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emrys p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been lucky enough to spend most of the last year in mid Wales and this has become our temporary local. This is an old fashioned pub - not themed or very smart ( no redecoration in many a year!). But it is very friendly and welcoming - with a big log fire in the bar in the winter and plenty of tables in its extensive gardens for the summer.

The bar welcomes children and dogs - but like all locals it has its 'characters' and, if these are too much , you can always take refuge in the comfortable lounge( or restaurant.)

Food is plentiful, good value and well cooked (I recommend in particular the fish and chips) but generally unadaventurous- because that's what the local market demands. However, there are often specials which are worth a try - the lamb tagine is of particular note.

All in all, a good place to fetch up at !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I visit this crappy little pub every year with my family as they have holiday accommodation nearby. The beer is over priced and the food is below average. Though it being somewhat a regular for my parents and grandparents the staff are constantly grumpy and rude. I HATE spending money in this dump but I will relcutantly continue to visit as long as my family choose to do so, hoping that some day the tatty place will get a facelift, a reality check and some friendly owners.....

Room Tip: dont go here. period.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A lovely pub with good pub food to satisfy any hungry visitor. The rooms were a bit old fashioned, but clean and comfy. The best thing was the warm atmosphere, warm welsh welcome and lovely full breakfast.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room at the back overlooking the pub garden
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gz7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed the visit. My bedroom was very comforable and in keeping with the overal ambience of the Inn (indeed the whole Inn is very quaint). Nice touch - decanter of sherry and 2 glasses on the sideboard.

Breakfast and evening meal all of excellent quality - fillet steak was some of the best I have had for a long time, and cooked exactly as I wanted. Also a great sticky toffee pudding that I shall remember!

Overall a great visit - good food and accommodation, sensible prices - I look forward to the opportunity to return

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor so you get a sloping roof - not a problem but if you want more space...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penybont
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Moors Guest House
Highland Moors Guest House
#6 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severn Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severn Arms Hotel

Address: Penybont, Llandrindod Wells LD15UA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Penybont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penybont
Price Range: $81 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Severn Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Severn Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing