We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay after a day exploring the countryside.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Severn Arms Hotel

Severn Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Severn Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Penybont B&B and Inns
Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay after a day exploring the countryside.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and warm with a huge en suite. A very good choice of food. The staff were very attentive on a very busy night. We would have no problems staying again. Cooked breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
22
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

9 pm arrival 45 pounds / room poor quality /damp /musty/unventilated /old tv /1930/40 shower! always inspect room before thinking of staying /ceiling partly falling into bathroom.could be improved by spending alot of money on upgrading efc gr pity that money may not be avail for this sort of trad hotel

Room Tip: do not stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emrys p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penybont hotels

london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been lucky enough to spend most of the last year in mid Wales and this has become our temporary local. This is an old fashioned pub - not themed or very smart ( no redecoration in many a year!). But it is very friendly and welcoming - with a big log fire in the bar in the winter and plenty of tables in its extensive gardens for the summer.

The bar welcomes children and dogs - but like all locals it has its 'characters' and, if these are too much , you can always take refuge in the comfortable lounge( or restaurant.)

Food is plentiful, good value and well cooked (I recommend in particular the fish and chips) but generally unadaventurous- because that's what the local market demands. However, there are often specials which are worth a try - the lamb tagine is of particular note.

All in all, a good place to fetch up at !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I visit this crappy little pub every year with my family as they have holiday accommodation nearby. The beer is over priced and the food is below average. Though it being somewhat a regular for my parents and grandparents the staff are constantly grumpy and rude. I HATE spending money in this dump but I will relcutantly continue to visit as long as my family choose to do so, hoping that some day the tatty place will get a facelift, a reality check and some friendly owners.....

Room Tip: dont go here. period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A lovely pub with good pub food to satisfy any hungry visitor. The rooms were a bit old fashioned, but clean and comfy. The best thing was the warm atmosphere, warm welsh welcome and lovely full breakfast.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room at the back overlooking the pub garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gz7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here and enjoyed the visit. My bedroom was very comforable and in keeping with the overal ambience of the Inn (indeed the whole Inn is very quaint). Nice touch - decanter of sherry and 2 glasses on the sideboard.

Breakfast and evening meal all of excellent quality - fillet steak was some of the best I have had for a long time, and cooked exactly as I wanted. Also a great sticky toffee pudding that I shall remember!

Overall a great visit - good food and accommodation, sensible prices - I look forward to the opportunity to return

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor so you get a sloping roof - not a problem but if you want more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

arrived early at six asked if kids ok to come in braved it in the bar full of locals .....dont like outsiders with kids anyway food great young lady at bar good just on leaving the chef goes to our table when we are still there at the bar paying and says to one of the locals what a mess this table has been left in it the kids behaved and eat well one is two one is five and wasnt bad at all go there but leave the kids ....wont be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAUL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penybont
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#10 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#22 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severn Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severn Arms Hotel

Property: Severn Arms Hotel
Address: Penybont, Llandrindod Wells LD15UA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Penybont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penybont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Severn Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Severn Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing