We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feast for the senses”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furstenau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schauenstein Schloss Hotel Restaurant
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Andreas Caminada is an absolute genius. The moment you step into his beautiful manor you are transported to another universe where Caminada's passion, whimsy and flair reign supreme.

The sitting room upstairs with beautiful 17th Century murals contrasts nicely with the modern decor and sets the tone for the culinary journey that awaits the lucky few.
Every course was a revelation, a game, a delectable interaction beautifully presented, in a minimalistic, Zen-like style.
Every minute detail is tended to in Caminada's world. Even the waitresses seem to perform a synchronized dance when serving, making diners feel like they are the center of the universe.

Oh, and at the end of the meal you are taken back upstairs to that lovely room and given wonderfully witty petit fours while Caminada himself greets you and asks you very humbly what you thought of the experience. Wow.

What an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank cocodemer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Schauenstein Schloss Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

There are food experiences that are pleasant and enjoyable. Then there are one's that live in your memory for the fact that you've been exposed to something truly superlative. Every element of Andreas Caminada is of the latter genre. Dishes are a feast for the eyes and intense explosions of texture and flavour for the tastebuds. It's flawless from start to finish. The wine pairing with local wines was a revelation. And the fact that they give you a little book to take away in which you can affix cards of what you ate is a novel and ingenious touch. This is a destination restaurant without peer in a beautiful setting which is fine dining at its best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent a weekend in the area and on Thursday evening my husband and I were lucky enough to get a reservation. What an experience! We have visited Sergio Herman, Sven Elverfeld, Jonnie Boer and many others but I must say that what we experienced in Schauenstein was amongst the top quality diners and service we were ever able to enjoy. It should be in the list of "A place to visit before you die".

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

fantastic overall experience exceeding high expectations. The food was incredible, original, inventive, inspirational and tasted super-yummy. The room was luxurious, combining antiques with modern treats in a great stylish way, loved the bathroom with all its perks and amazingly comfortable bath tub. Great welcome, feeling truly at home and enjoyed the menu with all the little cards and explanations and fairytales engaging us with the food and treats. Rounded off with a rich breakfast we enjoyed the overall experience and magic to the last minute. Yes, very expensive but worth the spend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank COMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gerardf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furstenau
1.8 mi away
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
Hotel Weiss Kreuz
#1 of 2 in Thusis
112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
#1 of 11 in Lenzerheide
282 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 2 in Bonaduz
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthaus Waldheim
#1 of 1 in Fuerstenaubruck
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gyger B&B
Gyger B&B
#1 of 1 in Thusis
19 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Reich
#1 of 1 in Summaprada
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schauenstein Schloss Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schauenstein Schloss Hotel Restaurant

Address: Furstenau, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Furstenau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Furstenau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing