We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwhile detour for dinosaur fans”

T. Rex Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Eastend
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Saskatchewan's dinosaur destination! Offering guided gallery tours, documentary film and daily summer programs. Special activities for pre-booked groups. Home of "Scotty", Canada's largest T.rex. Open seasonally from May (starting Victora Day long weekend) to September (closing after Labour Day long weekend).
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worthwhile detour for dinosaur fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

A little off the beaten path, this is a small, but professional museum centered around the discovery of a giant T. Rex skeleton nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

check on programs available. lots of great ones for kids

Helpful?
Thank prairiefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abernethy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun family adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We took our 3 children 9, and twins who are 5. Our nine year old found the movie before the tour very exciting and they all loved the tour of the dinosaurs. Our 5 year old's loved the archeology dig that day! They each got their own tools, goggle's and found their own dinosaurs.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful place to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This whole area is such a great place to visit. We drove from Cypress Hills Provincial Park for the day. The museum was a great afternoon spent with my kids and nephews. Hearing the story of the T-rex finding in the museums theater was pretty interesting for a small town. The interpretive guide that showed us around was well versed. The town of Eastend is found in a beautiful little valley. Taking some time to walk around and take in the history and beauty of the town is time well-spent. We will definitely visit again!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I think this is an excellent outing for any family with children. It is well worth the drive. As you enter the valley into the town of Eastend, you immediately realize you are in a unique geographical area. The museum itself is fascinating and there were so many things for our children to see and do. Once we finished going through the museum, we took the kids on a short walk in the hills and they loved this too. Finally, we went into the town of Eastend for lunch at Jack's cafe where we had some surprisingly great greek food. We will definitely make this an annual visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. Rex Discovery Centre also viewed

 
Eastend, Saskatchewan
 

Been to T. Rex Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing