We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Poppy Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Poppy Cottage”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed one night at this beautiful spotless guest house on our way to York. We stayed in the Sunflower room, very sweet room with beams and old fireplace but with all the mod cons you would expect from a guest house with such a good rating. Which Steve and Sally very well deserve. Very comfortable bed, so we both had a good nights sleep. Lovely cosy guest lounge with wood burning stove with doors leading out to a very pretty patio area for guest to use. Very traditional Cottage dinning room where a delicious breakfast is served with eggs from there own chickens and bacon and sausage sourced by themselves. Good breakfast menu with a good choice also a vegetarian option. We both look forward to staying in Steve and Sally's beautiful Cottage again,sometime next year, but this time for longer to appreciate the lovely Yorkshire Dales.

Room Tip: Sunflower room and Primrose room over look the back garden and open fields so you can watch the chic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
151
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A lovely guest house in a quiet village just outside Skipton. The 3 ensuite rooms have their own private entrance, lounge, & lovely south facing sheltered patio. Hosts Sally & Steve made us really welcome giving the impression that nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was good with eggs from the chickens beyond the patio. Wished our visit was longer.

Room Tip: Poppy room on road side but no noise noted. The room was large with sofa. The orther rooms are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nash buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Poppy Cottage is a beautiful find just a short drive outside Skipton. Nestling in a small village it is ideally placed for cyclists or walkers visiting the Dales national park. Steve and Sally and their family run a gem of a guest house, with everything thoroughly thought through, from the refreshments on offer when you arrive to the spotless rooms and the hearty breakfasts in the mornings.
If you stay at only one guest house this year, possibly ever, make it this one. Make an excuse, a special occasion, whatever.
Go.
You will be glad you did. We were.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were walking the Dales High Way and we stayed one night in Poppy Cottage - it was delightful and a great choice - the rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was first class - the hospitality from Sally and Steve excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterkeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful stunning property on the outskirts of Skipton in the lovely village of Carleton, full of character and beautiful, a really lovely place to stay, fantastic owners Sally and Steve, has everything you could want, beautiful rooms and a 5 star breakfast cooked to perfection . Very reasonable will be recommending to family and friends. Poppy cottage is a pleasure to stay at, will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2beersengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked two rooms for two nights and another room for just one night to attend a family wedding at the Devonshire Arms. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon with a warm welcome from Sally who, once we had put our luggage in the rooms, served us with tea and biscuits on the sunny decking.

From the minute we arrived we knew we had chosen the right place. The cottage was beautiful and the hosts were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, spotless, inviting, well equipped, unique with fabulous views. We couldn't have asked for more.

There is a private room and garden for guests to use if they wish. We opened a bottle of wine ( which we were able chill in the guest fridge) and it was delightful sitting and chatting whilst enjoying looking at the photos of the cottage being renovated.

The following day my brother and his wife arrived at 11.30 to freshen up and change for rhe wedding. Sally had said that as soon as the previous guests had checked out if their room, she would at least clean the bathroom so they could use their room for half an hour. What can I say, the minute Sally and Steve had waved the previous guests off, both were up preparing the room. By the time they arrived, the room was completely ready for their arrival! This was very much appreciated.

Breakfasts were beautiful. A great choice which catered for all preferences and set you up for the day! If you love breakfast- you'll love breakfast at Poppy Cottage.

We cannot fault Poppy Cottage at all. From the tasteful decor and beautiful gardens to the friendly, yet not intrusive hosts, who go the extra mile for you, this is a perfect place to stay.

The wedding we attended was made all the more special by our stay at this little hidden gem. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Tripadvisor recommendation proved to be brilliant for Poppy Cottage Guest House. We stayed two nights in July, booked well in advance, and stayed in the Sunflower room. You need to be aware that this is a mile and a half outside of Skipton itself on the edge of a small village, great for a stroll around in the evening. The cottage does provide all you would need, with initial guided tour by Steve, lounge with afternoon pot of tea and biscuits, and lovely garden and terrace had the weather been suitable! A good selection of maps and guide books available for use.

Comfortable bed and window seat overlooking the garden with the chickens, pigs etc, and an immaculately clean shower room, complete with bath robes and wonderful towels.

Breakfast had all you needed, and a great smile from Sally serving us! We tried the local pub in the village which only served steak and chips that night but was fine.

Overall, highly recommended as everyone else seems to say!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet-Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
783 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2

Property: Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2
Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottages are two self-catering holiday cottages which can be booked individually for short breaks of 3 or 4 nights, midweek and weekend stays. Book - Poppy Cottage No. 1 which sleeps 2 with fabulous hot-tub in a private south facing patio with views of the hills and countryside. The cottage has a wood burning stove, open living/dining/kitchen. open wooden stairs to 2nd floor with one bedroom and stylish bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Parking for one car. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 3 people with 2 bedrooms, one large double room with twin beds or arranged as a superking and one single room with single bed, large lounge area with sofa bed for 2 extra, 2 bathrooms/shower rooms one on the ground floor, newly fitted kitchen and dining area. To the first floor, there is a 2nd bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash basin and the two bedrooms across the landing. Outside there is a lovely gravelled seating area to the front of the cottage, private parking for 2 cars at the rear in the courtyard. Both cottages will have welcome packs of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Laundry service available. Free wifi and freeview channels. The cottages adjoin our home (Ivy Cottage Farm) which is a traditional 'Dales Longhouse' and dates back to the late 18th Century. Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 are following on from 'Poppy Cottage Guest House' which we ran for 7 years from 2009 and gained an 'Excellent' reputation on Tripadvisor. We are only next door and will assist with any day to day queries you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing