We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - But Not Value for Money anymore.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mayura River View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mayura River View
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mandya
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location - But Not Value for Money anymore.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than half a dozen times in the recent 2.5 years - going there once every six months at least. The property is very nice - especially the cottages (they have only 6 of them). Never tried the rooms as I like the cottages. You can park your car outside your cottage - convenient! It's very calm and quite and is perfect for a "do nothing" vacation. Close to Mysore so that you can have a day trip out there and come back to Hotel Mayura (just 15 kms away from Mysore).

The pain point is the food which is below average and even though there are 15 chicken dishes listed in the menu, you end up getting the same fried chicken. Service is slow. No intercom in the room. So, you need to find someone to place order. Since the property is small, it's not a big problem. Earlier the tariff had Bed & Breakfast option, but it's now only accommodation. Moreover, they have further increased the tariff for the cottages to Rs 3000 from Rs 2500 (which was increased just a few months back). An increase again - and that's without breakfast!!

Considering there is not much to do and increased tariff doesn't make it Value For Money anymore, I most probably search for other option.

Room Tip: Cottages are good - especially Cottage # 3 and 4. Don't go for Cottage # 2 as you can not park y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    23
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The cabin was overlooking the serene Cauvery, one of India's seven holy rivers, and blissfully peaceful at night (once I had unplugged the fridge). A large bed and average bathroom with impressive solar heated water. after three weeks of mid-budget India,I had almost forgotten what hot water feels like) Food is served either beside the river or just above it in a circular dining area. The food was fine and they serve various alcohol. Sriringapattnam is fascinating for anyone interested in Indian history, or Anglo-Indian history of the late 17hundreds. The ruined fort is in walking distance, and the hotel an arrange a rickshaw to take you to the others. For me the only drawback was the gardeners, who on one day lit a fire that blew smoke at my cabin for hours on the afternoon I had designated for outside reading, and on another, pretended to water the same grass for two hours while conducting such loud conversations that it was impossible to just relax. I'm sure it's hard being a gardener, and I didn't want to make a fuss by compLaining. this has no pretensions of being a 5star hotel, but such thoughtlessness spoilt an otherwise very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Choose a cabin rather than one of the main house. number one is closest to the house and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The outdoor restaurant overlooking the river is a relaxing place for a simple meal. And the bill did not break the bank ! A welcome break from touring the sights at Seringapatam before hitting the road back to Mysore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

a fantastic place with awesome view. worst fact is the food service and quality of the same.
can improve on that only. rest everything is fine. and its close to mysore... we really had a peaceful 2 days... it was so exciting 48 hours...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AravindhMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Located at Srirangapatna. A nice place for a weekend away. Just a 2.5 hr drive from Bangalore and very accessible from the highway. Has 6 cottages and a few rooms. The main USP being it is on the banks of the Cauvery. Open air dining area overlooking the river is perfect but food quality surely needs improvement. Mysore is just a few kms away so one does not need to stay in the hustle bustle of the city. Rooms could do with a bit of maintenance.

Lots of places to see nearby like the Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary and temples

Room Tip: Always opt for the individual cottages if paying Rs.3000/- for double occupancy is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was a weekend bike trip with friends when we reached this place (it was recommended to me). The rooms are okay, while the best part are the riverside open air garden restaurant. Good and inexpensive food is very inviting. Moreover, there is a raft to do some river-rafting on the Cauvery - even though there are no rapids and the river is quiet calm, its fun going for a sail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avijitmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place can be categorized into the basket of State tourism hotels which have great locations but very laid back service.
The good things first - The property is right on the banks of Kaveri, pretty accessible by road but has the much needed peace and tranquility. The cottage rooms are spacious with large balconies facing the river, ideal for early morning breakfasts. They've also got a circular dining area on the edge of the river which is nice. The gardens also well maintained and generally the place is clean. Rates are reasonable and wont hurt your pocket too much.

But do not expect great service. The staff is laid back, and usually we had to ask for everything twice or thrice before the work got done. Food is just about average and the bar is not well stocked. Also this place tends to have a lot of office parties where they set up outdoor stages and noisy speakers which ruins the ambiance. So, best to inquire beforehand if they have any such plans while you are planning the stay.

Overall, you can have a decent enough stay if you set your expectations right.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage rooms and not the ones in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saikat_DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandya
5.3 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#10 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
#22 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
#8 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#19 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura River View

Property: Hotel Mayura River View
Address: Srirangapatnam, Mandya, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mandya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mandya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura River View Mandya, Karnataka, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing