We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, lovely rooms, fantastic service”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marsden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub, lovely rooms, fantastic service”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a very wet bank holiday walk. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, letting us store our bags and providing advice on trains. The room was great, as was the whirlpool bath, and the food in the evening was excellent - the chef even gave us the recipe for his amazing salted caramel ice-cream!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkMessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
41
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely family meal at the New Inn. It was the third Sunday in the month which meant a free kid's meal with every adult meal we ordered. The kids all opted for fish and chips. The fish was cooked in proper batter and was more than enough for them. I had the Moussaka which was really tasty and filling and my wife had the brie fried in breadcrumbs which was really good and came with a lovely sauce. I would highly recommend the Eton Mess for afters. The food was reasonably priced and the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David and Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked this at the last minute as we weren't sure whether we'd be able to travel in the winter conditions - as it turned out the black ice went and so did we!
We took advantage of the Credit Crunch special deal, and spent 2 nights (dinner, b&b deal). It was good value for money.
The room was small but cosy and comfortable, and it's a lovely area. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. They were fully booked our first night but recommended and phoned a local b&b for another couple who decided they would join us and stay over in Marsden (even more last minute.

The food was good, the beer was good, and we had a fine time. They make their own marmalade too, which is fab at breakfast time.

We'd go again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asamarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Having popped in for a drink at The New Inn on a previous visit we decided to come back to try the accommodation as they allow dogs both in the bar and in the bedrooms. I requested a room with a bit more space as we have a 'pen' for the dog and on arrival we were shown to a nice room with additional annexe with plenty of room for us. Nicely decorated, clean and with good-sized bathroom. Staff very friendly and happily accommodated us at breakfast with vegetarian option. We were the only people staying and think we were alone on the premises but that didn't bother us at all - a member of staff showed us an external door which bypassed the pub so we could still get out to exercise the dog if the pub was closed. We didn't try the pub food but instead ate at the Italian a minute's walk away on the main street which was excellent. Overall, The New Inn and Marsden itself is a great place to stay for a night or two and recommended if you have a dog as a couple of the other pubs in the village are also dog friendly (one being the Riverhead Brewery Tap which serves great real ales). There is also a lovely walk along the canal and the staff at The New Inn were happy for us to leave our car on the day we were leaving so we could go for a wander.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

"Beware" We booked last September 2010 to stay in march 2011 and have just been told that our room is cancelled because their sister hotel has a Wedding which needs the rooms, they told us that we "HAVE" move to another sister hotel or cancel all together.
When I quoted that their confirmation letter stated that we had a legally binding contract they just ignored what it said, the. They offered no compensation or apology and told us that was the end of the matter.............

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trevorwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsden
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
460 reviews
3.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
545 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
313 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
255 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Delph
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsden became famous for its growing textile trade, resulting in the development of dwelling houses for workers and the social scene of public houses, established in 1787, The New Inn orginally offered stabling for 24 horse, accomodation and refreshments, upto to 10 coaches a day were welcomed summer and winter alike. Today most customers arrive by a different form of horsepower but we gaurantee you'll recieve the same warm welcome. In the winter the log fire will be lit by the bar, and in the summer we offer outside dining in what will be our brand new beer garden around the back away from the main road.We serve a range of cask ales, and real home cooked food. We're open all day everyday, Monday to Friday we serve food 12 - 2.30pm and 5 - 9pm, Saturday, Sunday and Bank holidays we serve food all day.Why not make a night of it and stay in one of our beautifully renovated bedrooms? Some are extra special with four-poster beds and whirlpool baths. All are fully ensuite with bath, shower & luxury toiletries and digital TV with Freeview channels.Families, walkers, cyclists and dogs are always very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing