We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olive Branch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
North West England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Warm and cosy with excellent food, good service and friendly efficient staff. The early doors menu on Monday to Thursday...three courses with a half bottle of decent wine for £20 per person is a bargain. Dined there for 14 consecutive nights and would do it again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
23
69
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visit this restaurant on a regular basis as the food is perfectly cooked and staff lovely. It is not cheap pub grub or bog standard meals. If you want a special night out with something a little different then i would highly recommend. They have a web site where you can see a sample of their menus if you are not an adventurous foodie! Cant comment on the rooms as we live in the area and have never stayed overnight.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We recently dined at this beautiful little restaurant, it's very quaint with a warm lovely atmosphere. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. We dined on a special voucher for two at £70, the mussells in garlic and cream were the best I've ever tasted, followed by slow roast pork, my husband was more than pleased with his superbly cooked steak, desserts, what can I say, neither of us have a sweet tooth, however, we were given a platter of six mini (not so mini) desserts, gosh we could belive it when we cleared the platter. I forgot to mention, prior to our starter, we were given delicious home made bread with balsamic and oil, then between our starter and main course, compliments of the chef, lovely cup of soup. All in all one of the best meals we have had in long time, and such value for money, however, looking at the prices I would be more than happy to pay full price as it is so reasonable. I did notice they also do a 'Steak' night and a 'Fish' night so we will be back, thankyou to the staff who made this such a lovely evening out for us. Pam & Derek

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had Christmas Day lunch at the Olive Branch. The meal was absolutely superb and the service second to none. The atmosphere from upon arrival to departing was one of relaxation and the staff were very confident and did not fluster. We go out each Christmas and speak from experience when we say that it was a pleasure to be dining at this establishment. There was nothing we cold fault and when we asked for a "breather" between courses, there was no problem. I could not eat my trio of desserts so I asked to take home one of them. They duly placed my desserts in a container, with our name, and left it in the fridge until we were ready to depart. Again, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 759Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
257 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We booked for dinner, on a cold Wednesday night. Received a warm welcome, but were not told until after we ordered that certain items not available or there was only one portion, this is always annoying. The kitchen has a competent team and could not fault the food, though I thought slightly overpriced. It does offer a cheaper small choice menu for early dinners which seems good value. Probably would not visit again unless for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked our stay here as we were attending a wedding nearby. Nowhere on the website did it say that we would be staying overnight in a building unoccupied by any staff, in a bedroom right on the busy roadside in a bed where the bottom sheet did not fit and came off in the night and the pillows were very uncomfortable, all in all a poor nights sleep. The room only rate was £90 including a 'continental breakfast' - this consisted of get it yourself from a dresser on the landing - basket of bread brought up the night before, and minimal supply of milk for cereals. Cooked breakfast was £14.50 extra. There was no one in attendance the next morning when we left - grudgingly cheque for the £90 left in room - £60 would have been full plenty.

Room Tip: From what I could see all rooms were on the front so if you want to sleep, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I booked in 15.10.11. I had booked in for 3pm and we got caught up in traffic so we arrived at 3.30pm. No one there!! Went to the front door pushed the door open,alarms went off.phoned up to get answer machine.left message but by this time was 3.45 and we had to be at a wedding for 4.30pm.Just made it,wife putting make up on in car.no cups for a cuppa,plenty of tea or coffee though!! Nice bread and jam left for us for morning,,no knifes!!! Beautiful room!! But the small things do count when you pay £90 for room...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egourlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsden
3.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.9 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch Inn

Property: The Olive Branch Inn
Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing