We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab first visit to Norfolk!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sage Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sage Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sage Cottage
Open plan living
Log burner
Galley kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Upstairs WC
Overy windmill
Sailing at the harbour
The sea wall part of the coastal path
Staithe Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Juliehink...
Bicester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Sage Cottage which is a great location for exploring the north Norfolk coast. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed with the accommodation, it was a good size and had parking but it could have done with a good clean. I had to wash the crockery and cutlery in the kitchen before use and the kitchen generally needed wiping down before we could use it. The work surfaces were greasy. The bed linen was clean and fresh and the bathroom was clean although the shower needs some attention. A nice cottage but just needs some maintenance, including trimming the bushes around the front door.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
I'm very sorry that Sage Cottage wasn't as you'd hoped, I will be taking this matter up with the cleaner that I used, it's such a shame, she had stepped in at the last minute to help me out at a tricky time. I put cleanliness above everything, and usually clean the cottage myself, I can only offer apologies, it's the first complaint I've had in a year and a half of letting the Cottage.
Thank you Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sealseal7...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab first visit to Norfolk!”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Sage cottage the week after Easter. It's a great location for walking and exploring the north Norfolk coastal. Great place to stay if you have a dog. Accommodation was clean and comfortable for our family of 3 plus a cockapoo. Lovely pub down the road called the Hero too.
The location is right on the coastal bus route as well so great if you want to do a one way walk and get a ride back home.
Angela was really helpful when booking and provided great communication.
We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great few days here at Sage Cottage. Perfect for our family of four plus a small dog. The local pub is superb and it's a two minute walk to the water and a beautiful 20 minute walk to the beach. We will be definitely be staying at Sage Cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you Sara, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back. Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minstrels...
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far nicer than it looks in the advertisement”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has a spacious, modern living area with a good TV and a lovely log burner. The kitchen is compact but very well equipped. The spotlessly clean bathroom has a full size shower cubicle with a powerful shower, plenty of thick white towels were supplied. Both bedrooms have comfortable beds with good quality linen and plenty of storage/hanging space. There is also hanging space and room for storage in the entrance hall. It is ideally situated for exploring the area either on foot, or by car and there are interesting places within easy travelling distance.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I rented the cottage for a weekend break with our dog.

The cottage was easy to find, in a hamlet near the harbour. Unfortunately we had not realised that there would not be shops nearby open as we arrived quite late.

The cottage was well laid out and the owners had kindly left us a welcoming gift.

The nearby pub served great food and was very welcoming and very dog friendly.

The cottage was immaculate and felt like a second home rather than a rental house.

We very much look forward to returning.

Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
King regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattstag
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage tucked out of the way and near to the pub and harbour front”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is excellent. It is really well set out, comfortable and surprisingly spacious inside. Brilliant location especially as we have a Labrador and the harbour is 2 minutes walk. Also really handy for the hero pub and great walks along the coast to holkam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful but handy location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you, we love our guest enjoying the house and the area, we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and close to the harbour”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well presented and well equipped, this is a very comfortable cottage with a true homely feel. We loved the airy and light feel to the house and the bed was good. The location was great for access to the harbour and beach but up a quiet lane. It's a pity it is in the middle of a static home site and has no garden but we would love to return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the area and the accommodation so much that you wish to return. The photos show the small quiet private static caravan site situated behind the property and I make it very clear that there is no enclosed garden so I am sorry that this was a surprise to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing