We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful relaxing and secluded, with wonderful...”
other travelers have booked this property
La Petite Maison a Vergt
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Petite Maison a Vergt
View from the Pool The Mezzanine Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
La Petite Maison a Vergt
View from the Pool
The Mezzanine Bedroom
Sitting room from the bedroom
View of the Garden
Looking out into the sunshine
Sitting comfortably.
Snowball tree in the Garden
From the Garden
La Cuisine
Al fresco
Friday morning market in Vergt
Hammock under the Apple Tree.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vergt, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SueFreer
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful relaxing and secluded, with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a really lovely stay with Babs and Izzy, they were helpful, friendly and yet discreet. We feel we have known them for ages. The Petite Maison is quite delightful, as it says small but perfectly formed. We relaxed in and around the pool, ate in the garden, generally felt at home. We travelled to local towns and restaurants , walked to the nearby lake and read and relaxed more than we have done anywhere before, and we have holidayed in France for 17 years now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seclusion and privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NandB2014
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

La Petite Maison A little house with a huge heart, this little piece of paradise is set in the amazing, beautiful Dordogne countyside. The charming owners have given much attention to detail and provided everything you need, and created a truly homely ambiance. The property is set in the grounds of their fantastic property with outstanding views of the countryside, and a pool !
Babs and Izzy are the perfect hosts providing local knowledge, and much hospitality, if needed.
This was our fourth visit !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location & hospitality
Liked least: Hangovers in the morning !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsarno
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Exquisite little gem surrounded by spectacular views”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2012

We celebrated our second wedding anniversary at La Petit Maison in September 2012, and couldn't have selected a finer place to do so.

After a long drive across France, we received the warmest welcome ever from the hosts, Babs and Izzy. The reality exceeded all of our expectations. The views across the fields and pastures were truly magnificent, and we loved nothing more than whiling away the day lounging by the pool, and making the most of the bikes (which came with the accommodation) to explore all of the stunning countryside which made up the surrounding area.

The evenings were blissfully quiet, which was exactly what we were looking for to escape the bustle of our usual London life. There is a sweet little Guingette a five minute stroll away, where there is the odd evening of live music, but generally, La Petit Maison provided so much that we almost felt no need to move from the grounds.

If it is peace and tranquillity you are after, I really couldn't recommend this place more. It also serves as an excellent base to explore the surrounding villages, markets and Bastides.

Thanks so much to Babs and Izzy for being such amazing hosts! We will almost certainly visit again one day...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being away from it all
Liked least: Nothing negative to report
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2014
Hi Caroline and Richard

Thank you so much for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you here again one day

Best regards

Babs & Izzy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike d
inverness
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb property, location and people..”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We visited La Petite Maison in May/June 2012 on our Honeymoon, the property was set in the lovely French countryside with stunning views over the Drodorgne valley the beautiful small village of Vergt is 5 mins drive away and has a lovely Patiserrie, well stocked supermarket and a nice cafe. Drive 15 minutes in either direction and the stunning town of Bergerec and Perigueux are a must for visiting as is the idyllic town of Sarlat.

The property was in immaculate order and a welcome pack was waiting on arrival, The pool is stunning and looks out over the Drodorgne valley, there is a country park 5 mins walk away which is beautiful aswell. The property has all facilities and a very nice BBQ area which came in very handy as the weather was fantastic.

The owners make this already fantastic property a real pleasure to visit and a hidden gem in this spectacular area of France, they were ready with advice on where to visit and where to eat, attentive without being intrusive and always ready to share a beer/wine or 10... They made our holiday feel very special with a warm welcome and the personal touch was evident from the start. Very approachable people who we will be visiting again this year.

I can't recommend this property enough. Thanks for a great holiday and making us feel so welcome.

Mike & Vivien Donald.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: Nothing..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. La petite maison has everything you need for a lovely holiday. Lovely views and very peaceful. It was hot when we stayed so having use of the owners pool was very welcome. It is Ideally located for exploring the region. Vergt itself is not far away with its bakers, butchers, supermarket and little cafés. Barbara and Izzy are lovely hosts, there if you need them but not intrusive. All in all highly recommended and very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STACKOWIA...
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessier d
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Merci David et Christelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing