We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on as Always”
Review of The Fountaine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linton-in-Craven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountaine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went for our Christmas walk around Grassington and called in for lunch at the Fountaine. Started with sprout and bacon soup (fantastic taste) and traditional Christmas lunch which was delicious, finished with ice cream. £12-95 for a 3 course lunch. Fantastic food at a fantastic price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedderbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Fountaine Inn for lunch and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious and generous portions, good selection on the menu. The atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable. There was a good choice of real ales.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Yorkydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a very enjoyable one night stay here. We stayed in the Loft and the room was amazing. A huge super king bed, a bath in the room, and then a separate shower which was incredible. Little things like a fridge as you come into the accommodation area where you can get fresh milk and bottles of water were well thought out and nice touches. The décor in the room was fresh and warm, and was very nice

The accommodation is in a converted barn just seconds from the actual Inn, so is lovely and quiet. We ate in the restaurant area in the inn, and the food was delicious. The place was full, which meant that it is obviously extremely popular even though it is a little in the sticks. Log fires, good ales and good food.

The breakfast in the morning was perfect. Everyone should visit and stay if you can. We live in Harrogate and although less than an hour away, we could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tickytowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This really is a pretty pub. Decorated in cream and turquoise with wooden beams, well looked after and set on a village green, this pub is a real treat.

We shared a starter and a main meal and both were lovely to look at and served with attractive crockery and cutlery.

Great location, nice service, very clean, gorgeous decor and good food. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stopped here two nights fri sat. Lovely view over the green and stream. only five rooms in an annexe next to the pub but beautifully appointed and really cosy when the rain came down most of Saturday. Nice toiletries and shower and comfy bed. Really enjoyed the food from fish and chips which was huge to venison and nice choice of wines and good selection of ales. shame fire wasn,t on in dining room. . Good set of walks available from the doorstep and nice shopping in grassington. Small village and only downside is that parking is very limited . wild like to come back in summer so could sit outside. Number of young serving staff but could not be more helpful, portions were huge so when we asked for half hour break before mains was nice that they did this so often you finish one course and your next comes immeditely

Room Tip: Only five rooms not sure any real difference apart from facilities. Complimentary water and milk was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Inn with my husband and mother in law for a night away.
I had already previously visited the restaurant but had not stayed over so knew to expect good things food wise!!!The welcome was great and the food was plentiful and very tasty (good value too). The rooms were both beautiful and had obviously had a lot of thought put into the decor. The bed was amazingly comfy!! The cookies were delish and we all thought the 'help yourself' milk and bottles of water were an excellent idea.
The whole stay was very enjoyable for all 3 of us and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Pinwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very nicely positioned hotel on the green, with supporting ducks, in an unspoilt village

The food was excellent with a traditional English breakfast, the evening menu was varied and all of us were content. The wine list is adequate though the Sauvignon blanc (2) lacked character . Beer well kept.

The rooms are well equipped and the beds some of the most comfortable we have ever come across. There are only small windows in the rooms and are not suitable for staying in during the date except for those on a romantic tryst!

Sensible effective bath and shower.

The staff were really helpful as were the local walking guides. We didn't test what space was available if it were a rainy day, outside opening time hours.

Plenty of opportunity for those who like a walk + pub crawl with pubs in Hebden, Grassington etc except for the Red Lion in Burnsall which has a customer service attitude problem.

A great package at a very reasonable price and we look forward to going again,

Simon Hanley

07828417512

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intenditore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linton-in-Craven
6 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountaine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountaine Inn

Address: The Green, Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Linton-in-Craven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Linton-in-Craven
Price Range: $119 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country Inn set in the most idyllic village in the Yorkshire Dales National Park! With dining room, traditional bar & roaring log fire coupled with real Yorkshire hand pulled ales and great plates of home cooked food it has all the essential ingredients for the perfect break! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing