We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely.”
Review of The Fountaine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linton-in-Craven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fountaine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Fountaine Inn was recommended to us by our neighbour shortly after moving to the area. This is a lovely traditional inn, in the most picturesque location. Great, cosy bar area in the winter, and great to sit outside by the river in summer. The most delicious food, and friendly, helpful staff. Cannot fault it - the fact that this inn is frequented by locals and tourists alike says it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
125
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent a night here with my husband on our journey around the Individual Inns group. The Inn is really in a lovely spot and the accommodation was first class - as you'd expect from an individual inn. It was a Sunday, so the bar was packed, but we managed to get ourselves a seat by the fire. We stayed for dinner and the food was very good. If I have one small negative, it would be that the Fountaine staff weren't quite as welcoming as we've come to expect from the Individual Inns group. All round though - a lovely stay and we will return - only the Masons Arms to try now!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham Lancs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited pub for lunch on a Tuesday, at mid-day and the smallish restaurant was full but food was also served in the oter rooms.
You order in the restaurant and pay at the end.my husband and I ate off the 2 courses for £10 and our daughter beef stroganoff which was good,we had soup served with lots of home made bread very nice and roast beef dinner okay but plates cold on ours Yorkshire pudding looked impressive but was hard and my beef was dried up around the outer edge as if had not been properly covered keeping warm.
Service good and staff friendly and helpfull.

We would probably visit again but try other dishes next time.

This is a lovely pub in a beautifull setting,take bread to feed the ducks on the river out front.

One tip don't miss out visiting grassington nearby very nice place to walk off lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OldhamLancsEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A delightful gem of a pub in a stunning setting. We had a lovely meal with excellent service. A great range of hand pulled ale too. Meals are imaginative and far more exciting than your average pub menu. Portions are generous and the onion rings are a must have. I highly recommend the cheese 'plank' which is epic and showcases some stunning cheeses. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilikefoodandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What can I add to other reviews?
Calling in after a nice walk from Grassington, the three of us had drinks at the bar then on an impulse decided on a cheese board between us and a childrens fish and chips.
We opted for a table in the bar area.
What was served was (at guess) a two foot long plank of wood, with end to end cheeses and chutneys!
Not to be outdone, the fish and chips would have passed for a full adult portion.
I was happy sitting with a Racy Blonde ( a beer I hasten to add) whilst It was nice to find a pub doing decent coffees.
Jelly and custard on the childrens menu was bonus too.
ps. it is easy to find the accommodation, just turn right and right again! (mind you this was tried sober and in daylight!)

Room Tip: take a torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went for lunch with our two children. Very much got the impression that they would have preferred the children not to be there. Only offered one menu - however after we had made our choices we noticed that every other table was being offered an alternative menu - turns out it was a lunchtime special menu (2 courses for 9.95) whereas we ended up paying around £12 for one course. Daughter opted for pizza - it was a late 70's/early 80's French bread pizza style - she didn't enjoy and I wouldn't rush to go back either

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights and ate at this lovely old dog-friendly inn. All staff, in bar and dining room, pleasant and welcoming. Smart modern conversion of outbuildings made cosy and comfortable accommodation. Good food and an excellent choice of ales. Topped off by a picturesque beckside location, next to the village green (where the ducks are clearly used to being fed!) and by an old stone bridge. On the edge of the Dales and handy for Skipton or Harrogate. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linton-in-Craven
3.7 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#1 of 1 in Linton-on-Ouse
79 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Sidings Hotel
The Sidings Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
719 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountaine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountaine Inn

Property: The Fountaine Inn
Address: The Green, Linton-in-Craven, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Linton-in-Craven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Linton-in-Craven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country Inn set in the most idyllic village in the Yorkshire Dales National Park! With dining room, traditional bar & roaring log fire coupled with real Yorkshire hand pulled ales and great plates of home cooked food it has all the essential ingredients for the perfect break! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing