We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarn House Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Stirton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and all the staff throughout our stay were very helpful. The room was clean and seemed newly decorated. We appreciated the bottled water in our room as well as the beverages and biscuits. The breakfast was excellent. Plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, cold meats and cheese as well as a variety of pastries. I would certainly recommend Tarn House.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems make sure you let the hotel know on booking as some of the rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

When I arrived I was immediately impressed by the openness of the staff to help. Although there were stairs to the rooms, the staff person offered to carry my bags and turned on the heating , talked me through how to operate everything, a nice change from the do it yourself attitude of the big hotels.
The single room was cosy and very clean . The continental breakfast was extensive including fresh fruit salad, meats, boiled eggs ,cheeses, different breads and freshly warmed up croissants.

Room Tip: Although wireless Internet was available on the ground floor it was also available in room 1 . Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked for a special evening and night as we were celebrating my birthay. We drove from the West Midlands and arrived quite hungry to be informed that the restaurant did not open on that day. The room was supposed to be a "luxury" room, but there was nothing special about it apart from being freezing on our arrival. It was as well their restaurant was shut that day as we found a wonderful pub in Skipton, the Castle Inn, where we had lovely food in absolutely lovely atmosphere. The hotel seemed absolutely empty and I was disappointed with it. The mattress was straight from the worst nightmares, hard and we hardly slept a wink!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second time we have used this Hotel, and not as impressed as we were 12 month's earlier. Room was still good, but restaurant food very basic, also sat on our own, a big indication things not right, should have really gone into Skipton. The next day we went out on a walk, was out all day and on return looking forward to a nice shower, found there was no hot water. To go out at night we had to swill in ice cold water, not impressive considering the cost of paying a hotel. Comment from reception was the hot water system is fed from underground bore holes that at times cannot keep up with demand. Only an apology and a shrug of the shoulders and took the full amount of money. Lovely setting, lovely position, very disappointed with comments from lady on reception. Understand the Hotel has undergone a major management change, guess they are still learning and not bold enough to put things right for customers, will cost them in the end.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaldingrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were on our way to Settle for the weekend, and stopped off here for lunch. There wasn't a lot of choice, but there was enough for us, as we just wanted something small. My husband had a cheese and pickle sandwich and I had a cheese and marmite toastie. Both dishes came with a lovely fresh side salad and homemade coleslaw, which we thought was excellent value at £3.95 each.

Obviously I can't comment on accommodation, but if a light lunch served by friendly staff is what you're after, then I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentine_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just come home after a 3 night stay, the hotel itself and the staff cannot be faulted everything just right, the problem was the food we were very disappointed , we stayed here last year and the food was delicious you could order a full english breakfast for a suppliment which was so worth the money this year its stopped , the lunch menu has been cut down to practically nothing and it wasn't very nice to be honest and we looked at the dinner menu and just didnt bother which was their loss as we were a party of eleven, I know places have to be run so there cost effective but surely offering guests decent well cooked food as well as good accomodation is what all hotels need to bring more custom in and make money, come on tarn bring your good food back!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want twin no 4 four poster no 5 both have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a coast to coast cycle ride. The room was very good, very clean. However, having cycled 60 miles we were disappointed there was no evening meal other than toasties and chips and the hotel was too far from Skipton ti venture into town. In the morning we were equally disappointed to find only continental breakfast. That said - a big thank you to Martin for printing out cycle routes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malhighfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirton
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
834 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Devonshire Arms Inn
Devonshire Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cracoe
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#6 of 32 in Skipton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn House Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn House Holiday Park

Address: Tarn House Farm Near Skipton | Near Skipton, Stirton BD23 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stirton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stirton
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn House Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarn House Holiday Park is ideally located on the outskirts of the fabulous market town of Skipton. The main building was originally a Manor house with extensive grounds and gatehouse was built around 1650 AD and then extended in the mid 1800's, it is now home to our Reception area, snug with WiFi access as well as our bar area and restaurant. The holiday park has caravans for sale and hire as well as a small touring area. Immaculately maintained the park is worthy of its 4 star rating and you will receive an extremely warm welcome from our friendly team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Skipton
Skipton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing