We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting this establishment what a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarn House Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Stirton B&B and Inns
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting this establishment what a gem”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Found this hidden hotel by accident looking for somewhere to stay in Skipton, we were not disappointed in fact we were overjoyed at our stay in the Tarn House Inn. Went there with two friends which is always dauntingbooking for other people as so many things can happen from the moment we drove up to the inn we knew we were going to have a great time. Tim greeted us in a very professional manner making us feel welcome, we were escorted to our rooms shown where everything was, it was so pleasent to be treated in this way, other hotels/b&b should take note. Can reccomend having an evening meal here the menu was very well thought out and the food was of a vey high standard. Finally we would highly advise people to stay here you will not be disappointed, once again thank you to all the staff for making our stay so worthwhile and we are planning our next visit here already.

Room Tip: seems all the rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green1ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here before in nice large room with bathroom.
Friendly helpful staff, nice food and quality comfortable rooms.
Just stopped here again this time in second floor twin room, again all very nice, shown to our room with offer of taking our bags, very pleasant staff, nice breakfast.
Why don't some other hotels and B & B's offer this simple extra service, it really makes guests feel welcome?
Thanks again..

Room Tip: At weekends the room above the bar can be a little noisy till late
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audimadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked very late, not sure of exactly what we wanted for a buffet reception with drinks where the numbers were a touch uncertain. Tarn House said, with absolute confidence "Don't worry, we know how to do this." And they did. The food was excellent, the staff were attentive without being pushy, the forgetful elderly and the exuberant toddlers were all handled with patient kindness. Everything went well - which is never by accident - and we never felt under pressure about anything. It is a comfortable, as well as an attractive place and it was this feeling of ease, without in any way compromising the high standards of hospitality that we found most welcome. The value for money that the final bill offered was then a very welcome surprise. I cannot recommend Tarn House too highly.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have fine views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainhill merseyside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I booked in the Tarn for a meal and we should have booked to stay in the Hotel but left it to late because it was full. On our approach to the Tarn we found that it looked very inviting and when we arrived they had an open fire going which was nice. Before our meal we sat in the bar and had a couple of drinks, the staff were very friendly and warm. We went in for our meal 40 mins later and it was cooked to perfection so 10 out of 10. We came out the restaurant and had another drink in the bar which was filling quite quickly, then a taxi home, next time we stay in Skipton we will book in the Tarn Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackomul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed at the Tarn House Hotel recently with a group of friends - a lovely relaxing break enhanced by the service which was friendly and helpful. From the minute we arrived and were shown to our rooms - which were clean, comfortable spacious. to the lunch we had (with amazing home made chips!) in the Bar next to a roaring fire. We then set off for a walk to nearby Skipton. As the weather weather closed in late afternoon we made the decision to eat in the Hotel restaurant - and were justified in doing so. The service was excellent and the food delicous - a lovely time was had by all. The hotel is beautiful and set in gorgeous surroundings - will be back with the family to experience this venue again in the Summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at Tarn House on Saturday with some friends. It was great to spend some time with friends, but the trip was also much enhanced by wonderful surroundings, excellent staff and good food... The hotel is in a great location, about 20 minutes walk from Skipton (or just under £5 in a taxi). The staff were very friendly and attentive. We ate in the bar saturday lunchtime and in the restaurant saturday night - the food was superb and very reasonably priced. Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room, or for a small supplement of £5 per person you have the option of a full cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This weekend was my first trip to Tarn House. The location was just breathtaking. We had the added bonus that is started to snow as we arrived. The food was just lovely, whether it was a bar snack next to a roaring open fire or our evening meal in the restaurant, the food and service was perfect. (and I am hard to please) The rooms were clean, comfortable and full of character. I understand it was built around 1650 and was built to last. We were also close to Skipton town, so close we walked there and back in the snow. I will be back but with the man in my life, as I think it is perfect for a girlie weekend or a romantic break away. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Overall a fab weekend. Thank you to Amy & Johnny!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 & 5. Room 3 has a four poster bed, which is good for a romantic break. With...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirton
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Craven Heifer
The Craven Heifer
#10 of 33 in Skipton
289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarn House Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarn House Holiday Park

Property: Tarn House Holiday Park
Address: Tarn House Farm Near Skipton | Near Skipton, Stirton BD23 3LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stirton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stirton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarn House Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarn House Holiday Park is ideally located on the outskirts of the fabulous market town of Skipton. The main building was originally a Manor house with extensive grounds and gatehouse was built around 1650 AD and then extended in the mid 1800's, it is now home to our Reception area, snug with WiFi access as well as our bar area and restaurant. The holiday park has caravans for sale and hire as well as a small touring area. Immaculately maintained the park is worthy of its 4 star rating and you will receive an extremely warm welcome from our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Tarn House Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Skipton
Skipton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing