We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of The Belfry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Belfry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Littledean
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent a very pleasant evening in this friendly pub. We stayed in room 12 which was upstairs and although it was quite small it was cosy, clean and adequate for our over night stay. The staff, especially the manager were very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Sunday evening and were too late for the Carvery which finishes at 4.30. The manager recommended the local Chinese restaurant and even offered to drive us there and then pick us up. We thanked him for his kind offer but made our own way there and back. The meal at the Lotus was excellent. Breakfast at the Belfry was good and plentiful. We would definitely stay here again. It offers good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46maggie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
41
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have had numerous meals her both with family and friends.. I would recommend this pub to anyone by far the best service ever and this pub certainly knows how to treat customers. I have also attanded events here and enjoyed myself so much I did not want the night to end.... FANTASTIC

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a fantastic atmosphere! The staff are absolutely fantastic particularly the waitresses who are incredibly willing and helpful! The prices and quality of the food is really something to be proud of, the warm welcome is certainly something to value. I would definitely recommend the Belfry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I would just like to say that my friends and I went for a meal back in August 30th and was very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food we had that evening. Great food and great service. Well done to all at the Belfry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went here recently after a visit to the river wye, we arrived at five and asked if they were serving food, they offically start at 5.30pm but the manager said he would have a word and we could order at 5.15pm a very impressive welcome. Very clean and staff very friendly and attentive. Good choice on menu and our meals arrived very promptly. Huge portions and very tasty! Great value for money, so nice to have a warm welcome and that personal touch which is seldom found these days. Would definitely return for lunch/evening meal when in the area. Great at hospitality ! !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank klm-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my 21 month old baby. We stayed in room 7 and I must say for the money it was nice. But the park was outside our window and I struggled to get my little girl to sleep as people were very loud and roudy, so maybe not the best for young babies/toddlers. The shower was interesting as boiling hot water was running out the bath tap while the shower was running so my feet were scortching, so much so that I had to stand at the other end of the bath! Overall the hotel is good value for money, just not suitable for us as a family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearce1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the third time I have used this hotel, but the first time I have been accommodated on the upper level. What an improvement. We had a window that could be opened safely and left open for fresh air and the room was light and welcoming and as ever comfy. But the biggest advantage was being able to the free WiFi (We cannot get a signal in the ground floor rooms). The only niggle is the tiny cups and saucers they provide do not give a decent amount of drink and the powder from the hot chocolate they provide half fills the cup and leaves too little room for water. Please can we have mugs (I now take my own).

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littledean
3.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
719 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
5.9 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
177 reviews
13.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,507 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry Hotel

Property: The Belfry Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Littledean GL14 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Littledean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Littledean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Belfry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Hotel Cinderford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing