We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Littledean House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$224
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
39
36
12
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
36
12
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantcurryforest of deanbudget hotelbeer gardenlittledean jailreal alefriendly placelittle boylovely atmospherestay there againrestaurant downstairswarm welcomewonderful staybed was very comfortablelittle gemlovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 103 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were first given Room 4 and we found there was a problem with the toilet which, when raised with the proprietor Claire, was immediately and cheerfully resolved by changing room to No 6. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable and the bedlinen was of good quality. We ate in the dining room and were very impressed with the food, the lamb in particular was excellent. The food was so good that we also ate there the following evening. Breakfast was also very well presented and tasty. Claire and Matt, the owners, were both welcoming and hospitable and nothing was too much trouble, for example, upon learning that we were looking forward to the Welsh Rugby semi final on the Saturday morning, the tv in the bar was switched on and we were told we could even be served breakfast in front of the tv should we wish! The log fire in the bar was lovely - all in all excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic reflected by price.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Ok so have a small admission
I have not stayed over night here, but this morning my car broke down, right by this hotel.
All members of staff were helpful allowing us to use their phone. Giving us (i had 2 friends with me.) a hot drink and a warm place to wait till the recovery van turned up.
What i can add to the header is it looked very well run and clean, with a lovely garden area.

A big thank you for your assistance.
Sharon, Kay & Grace.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank spazzieshazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Old Coaching Inn in LittleDean, Forest of Dean, Glos. Old quaint building, not many straight walls, adding to the character. Room was small but adequate, bed comfy, nice pillows. Restaurant very good and staff extremely helpful and accomodating. Good base for touring the local area and walking. Not 4 star luxury but extremely good value for money and a good place to chill out in front of a log fire.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAISYBOO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed at the Littledean House Hotel on August bank holiday weekend 2011.

First the plus points - the hotel is very well located in Littledean, a couple of miles outside Cinderford and has ample parking at the back of the hotel, where there is also a very nice garden you can sit out in. The staff at the hotel, particularly the bar and waiting staff, were very friendly and helpful. As well as having a couple of breakfasts at the hotel (which was included in the price) we also ate there on our first evening. The food was very nice and the 3 course menu for 12.50 was a bargain. We would have eaten in the hotel again on the second (Sunday) night, but they were told that they didn't do food on a Sunday night and that "we would probably have a bit of trouble finding somewhere to eat in the area that evening". We did find somewhere in the end, but quite a strange situation considering it was a bank holiday weekend and the hotel was fairly full.

Onto the room itself. We were in a room at the front of the hotel. I can't say it was particularly big, but then we were only paying 50 quid per night so we took this into account. However I have a say the main problem I had was that it is pretty noisy in a number of ways. First of all the rooms at the front of the hotel face onto a main road which gets a fair amount of traffic. The room was only single glazed, so you obviously got a reasonable amount of noise coming through. Luckily the weekend we stayed was fairly cool, but it was still hot in the room at night, and it wouldn't be much fun if you had to open a window. Secondly there doesn't seem to be much soundproofing in the hotel (the building is obviously several centuries old so maybe there isn't much scope for this) so it does mean that you have to listen to the person in the room above you crashing around. The icing on the cake, however, is the plumbing system. There is a water pump in the bathroom which kicks in every time you use the toilet, shower or sink and basically sounds like there is a small motorbike in the room ! This made us chuckle the first couple of times, but after two days the joke started to wear a bit thin. Obviously not the end of the world, but it might have been good if the hotel had given us some warning about it (especially as you wonder what the hell is going on the first time you use it !).

All in all, I would say that the Littledean House Hotel is good value for money and a nice place to stay for a night or two, but I can't say I would fancy a longer stay there given the size of the room and the noise issues.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Headington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Difficult place to review,this.The staff are very friendly and do give a damn.The young chef on breakfast duty gave the sort of care and attention to his work you generally only see at flower arranging classes.The bar has all the right drinks on offer but the restaurant menu didn't inspire us to eat there.Our room(4)was not the cleanest or most welcoming place we've ever slept and was accessed by ,potentially,ankle snapping steps.Nothing went with anything else in the room decor wise.The bathroom could have done with a complete scrubbing.The windowsill,in the room, was covered in tea/coffee.It really did let the experience down.Having said all that,the staff do try but maybe should be trying harder.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews