We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing & idyllic”
other travelers have booked this property
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub is wonderful and relaxing. Surrounded by scented roses.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub is wonderful and relaxing. Surrounded by scented roses.
The lush garden vegetation ensures  your privacy and a sense of well being.
BBQ and outside table provide the opportunity to dine al fresco.
The private hot tub is one step away from the conservatory french doors.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory and the kitchen/diner.
Freeview TV and wifi are all available for our guests.
There is enough seating for up to 4 guests in the bright and airy living area.
The owners always provide fresh flowers when available.
The living area leads directly to both bedrooms.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The beautiful double bedroom with romantic decor.
The bedrooms and living area are all on one level.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The living area also leads on to the second bedroom.
Dressing gowns are provided. The second bedroom can also be made up into a king if required.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer flowers create a wonderful welcome for guests as they arrive at The Stables.
Parking is available right outside the property.
The Stables has its own private garden. Help yourselves to apples and rhubarb!
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gsingh462
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing & idyllic”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent 2 nights here and it felt like we were there twice as long due being so relaxed.
Mandy, the host, is wonderful and very laid back, she even left cake and fresh eggs from their own chicken pen for us which was a very nice touch.
The cottage is beautifully presented, cute and homely.
Wi-if was a tiny bit hit & miss but that was being improved/fixed by engineers during our stay. There is free-view tv with hundreds of channels and a DVD player with several dvds for your viewing too. Lots of books and some games were also left by hosts should that be your preference.
The best thing about the stay was the hot-tub which was really nice, to be able to sit out in the garden (in any weather) and listen to some music and look out at the wonderful views. It was the icing on the cake.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky G
1 review
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A short break with the family to provide some relaxation time for my husband between ongoing treatment. We were very lucky with the weather but it was simply beautiful to sit in the hot tub surrounded by nothing but fields and animals. House had everything we could need and Mandy was extremely helpful and accommodating. Thank you, would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2018
Thankyou for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely !”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful lodge , stunning views so relaxing with the sheep neighbours! The stables was beautiful and have everything required . Milk eggs and cake on arrival lovely touch. Loved the hot tub and country walks would definitely recommend .

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My friends and I had a lovely stay, the facilities were great and the views were amazing. Loved the hot tub. Would definitely visit again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle...
Chipping Sodbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for a week with our 2 year old son. We had an absolutely amazing time. It's a brilliant location with so much to do, all within a 15 minute drive. The views from the stables are incredible and our little boy loved seeing the lambs (in the field that backs on to the garden), the chickens and ponies daily. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. I would definitely recommend and would like to thank Mandy and David for a lovely holiday!

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Family break”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This is a beautiful little getaway. When arriving 28th Dec,it was bitterly cold and icey. Although we had a lovely family break, we could have done without the heating failing twice and losing the gas power while cooking breakfast. It was bitterly cold so did put a damnpener on the stay. Fortunately the hosts were nearby to resolve the problem but this did take a good 45 minutes to get the gas power back. The heat was on a timer which I felt was wrong as we'd paid a lot of money for the 2 nights so should have been left on at all times considering the time of year and the weather conditions. Otherwise the stay would have been perfect.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2018
Thankyou for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologise of any inconvenience caused regarding the heating, but were glad that we were able to deal with this as quickly as we did. The boiler is on a timer at guests' request, as they are usually out during the day. However, our welcome folder explains that if this is not convenient then they should ask us to change the settings accordingly. On this occasion it was noted that the boiler had already been altered and had actually been switched off, having been working fine on your arrival. We are pleased that this was all resolved for you and that you were able to have a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartoa
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the stables for 2 nights and had a wonderful relaxing break. Amazing surroundings and prefect accomadation. We only met Mandy and David briefly who are very accomadating and can't do enough for you from the moment you book until the moment you leave. Thank you very much Mandy and David.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing