We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing stay”
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
The light and airy kitchen/diner conservatory opens onto the patio/garden and hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer
Dressing gowns are provided.
The Stables has its own private garden.
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Texmexduc...
Porthcawl
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We chose the stables for its out of the way location and were not disappointed. The half mile farm track to get to the cottage was a bit of a concern when we stayed but was OK as long as you went dead slow. The cottage itself was lovely and well appointed with everything you could need. We were met by the owner David and were made to feel very welcome.
The highlight has to be the hot tub and even on a damp November evening it was great to relax and listen to the local wildlife.
We would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to escape for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Farm track to reach the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you for your positive comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet that the Stables offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon y
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at the stables for 3 nights and I just had to write a review about this place. I cannot recommend it enough. My family and I were made up with the accomadation . It's a gorgeous little place superbly decorated (loved davids pictures)with everything you could need. The hot tub went down well with my little girl who spent every minute she could in it. The views were stunning. It's a little hidden gem . We did find it hard to find towards the end of of journey but a quick call to David put us back on track . Plenty to do in the local area . Had a great meal at the saracens head inn over looking the river wye . We would definitely love to return . Thanks David and Mandy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Stables so much. We look forward to welcoming you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannejoa...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Stables for three nights and enjoyed not only the comfortable, quaint, home from home accommodation but the beautiful area and stunning views. The fact file left by Mandy and Dave is so helpful and a informative touch which we was so helpful as this area was new to us ( and many parts, still are) we took their advice of taking the ordinance survey map out with us each day which is a must and to return to our beautifully decorated retreat after taking in all the scenery on our days out was just heaven, the absolute added bonus was the relaxing hot tub over looking the welsh mountains, the tranquillity and privacy while enjoying together a little glass of well deserved bubbly. To return is a must for us!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. We are very pleased you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole w
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you are looking for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then The Stables is simply perfect! We spent one of our days canoeing down the river Wye at Symons Yat and had a lovely lunch looking out on the river at The Saracens Head- This is about a 20min drive from The Stables (be sure to take cash for parking!) After a tiring day on the river we relaxed in the hot tub and listened to the sound of gentle wind chimes in the garden. Such a magical place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you had such a good time and enjoyed everything we have tried to provide for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome, complete with cottage garden, stunning views and beautiful decor await you at The Stables.”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at The Stables. On arrival we were greeted with smiles and helpful conversation by the friendly hosts who guide you to the accommodation. The Stables sits adjacent to their home, but once inside maintains a complete sense of privacy. Surrounded by free flowing flowers the accommodation lives up to its picturesque photo, and inside, this beautifully decorated retreat is a real treat indeed with everything you need for the perfect getaway. The wild cottage garden spoils you with your own private view of the local land and a hot tub, best enjoyed at sunset with a glass on bubbles in hand. The Stables is just right for 4 adults or a family of 4. Or of course a romantic break.
We ventured out to the local pub (New Inn) which offered very good food at a good price, and also drove to one by the river (Saracens Head) which is lovely for a sunny day and offers boat tours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: 10am check out, but only because I didn't want to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMG223
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place to stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week at The Stables - the house was clean & comfortable so we immediately settled in. The hot tub and stunning garden meant we spent a lot of time outside enjoying the view and relaxing. There is lots to do in the area and the week went went very quickly. We recommend The Stables to anyone who wants to have somewhere really special to stay in the Forest of Dean. We hope to return again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How bright and airy the house felt - and the hot tub in the garden
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to meeting you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amybeques...
Glouceseter
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away staying at The Stables and we want to go back already! It is a beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting, perfect for having a relaxing break and getting away from it all. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The owners are lovely and made us feel like we could ask them anything if we needed to. The hot tub was definitely our favourite bit though - it's amazing at night in such a peaceful setting.
We would 100% recommend The Stables and we are hoping to return next year! Thank you Mandy & David. :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments. We are thrilled you had such a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing